Update on Various in Never Say Never

  • Feb. 11, 2014, 7:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Work: Work is fine. Good even. After a few minutes at the end of the year thinking, "Hmm, this could really be it. This really seems like it. I think we'll shut this thing down by March," the hysteria seemed to die down (in my mind) and it was business as usual. The numbers are growing, revenue is solid, and people seem optimistic. Or at least that's how I am reading it from 1600 miles away. I could be totally wrong and if so look forward to my severance. Also I am going on a press trip to a luxury resort in Montana this weekend. So fun -- and also brrrr.

Vacation: In light of the above, I have booked a two weeks vacation to South America. I am meeting Trellis in Peru, touring Cusco and Machu Picchu, and then traveling to Ecuador for a few days before getting on a boat to the Galapagos. It all seems very adventurous of me and I am beyond excited. Oh, and I am paying for it all with money I was going to use to buy another apartment. So no more investment property. At least not this year.

Dogs: All are well. We are just weeks away from Old Dog's 17th birthday. He's still holding strong. A friend of mine lost her 12-year-old dog yesterday to liver cancer. So sad. Just so devastatingly sad. And I know it's coming. Every day is tinged with just a little bit of The End Is Near. What color is that anyway?

Health: A-okay. After gaining a few pounds in the fall, I started going to Jenny Craig right before Thanksgiving and I am down to a number I haven't seen since I dated Patrick 10 years ago. The surprising thing about Jenny Craig is how easy it's made my life, not just in terms of losing weight (which still hasn't been easy, less than one pound a week, because my body is like HOLD ON THERE, MISSY) but in terms of meal planning and food prep. I have a lot more time when I am not cooking food and cleaning up after cooking. Also the food is quite good. Which was a delightful surprise.

Well, there's your boring-ass update. Happy Tuesday.


Nash February 11, 2014

Wow, now those are some travel plans.

Satine February 11, 2014

Was wondering how the poodles were - 17 years, that is amazing. Nice on the trip and food and work stuff!

I do have one suggestion - don't plan too much for your first day in Cuzco...getting dropped off at altitude can really zonk you out.

SweetMelissa March 06, 2014

Montana and Machu Picchu sound amazing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.