LISS and LMS Locomotive planning tools in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Oct. 13, 2023, 8:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow … During my early career in Locomotive Utilization, (The Power Desk) many things occurred. My early on was the Eastern Power desk, was hard, but my nemesis the Western power desk, became my victory.

The East Desk on the Santa Fe was Chicago, IL to but not including Amarillo,TX. At Emporia the lines cut off toward Newton and Ark City..(Arkansas Sub)..LOL Pronounced Are-Kansas..Hey I am a dumb old rail, not a linguist. From Arkansas City to the Gulf. Houston,Beaumont,Galveston. Then at Temple,Tx to but not including Sweetwater, TX. Newton,KS to Pueblo,CO . At La Junta, LJ to Dumas,TX, LJ to Albuquerque,NM, Pueblo to Denver,CO.
The West end Well to me at the time was a nightmare!!! Amarillo to Barstow. Cuts and adds at Clovis,NM and Winslow,AZ Barstow to LA and down to Long Beach,CA. Barstow to Richmond,CA. At Williams JCT to Phoenix,AZ.

When the Western Part of the Santa Fe was broken down as the BNSF territorial break down, started to sink in. Maybe I was, too anal, and made more of it. I always apologized to the relief people on the west end… and I felt inadequate.

I will try to explain. and it will be vague in spots. I will try to clarify. Wish me luck, and will probably Mandarin Chinese.


Telstar October 13, 2023

Used to have a classmate who worked in that very tall Santa Fe building in Amarillo, Tx................

Brakeshoe Bob Telstar ⋅ October 14, 2023

That was the General Office Building, for the Amarillo Division. At one time it housed the Division Superintendent, Timekeeping for the Division, Administration, Law offices, Claims, Division M.O.W, and Mechanical. I'm sure it still has a function with BNSF Thank you for reading

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.