No jo mo Kakskümmend kaheksa in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 28, 2018, 2:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do I live and let die or live for the fight when that’s all you’ve got. I assume the second one is a song lyric or movie title as the first one is both. A bit of research tells me it’s Bon Jovi which reminds me of a small music festival we went to a few years ago where I fell asleep to the sounds of a Bon Jovi tribute band, snuggled up in my sleeping bag in the tent.

Anyway, they both feel to be quite aggressive attitudes and I prefer to live along the lines of the first one’s origin quote: live and let live. I don’t like how some people seem to feel that their rights are more important than other people’s. For example, a couple of days ago a driver in my town punched a kid on a bike; he got out of his car and punched him. From the report, the kid was being a bit of an arse, as kids can be in their perceived immortality, but why would someone get so angry they would punch a kid on a bike?! Live and let live, turn down a street and go a different way. Whatever. Everyone is so enclosed in their own bubble - plugged into their smartphone with earbuds, with their eyes and minds; encased in the safety of metal and glass in their cars. We forget compassion

A few days ago I was driving home from town and a Mercedes was trying to turn right at the traffic lights where only buses are allowed to turn right, the driver, an older middle aged bloke, was hitting his horn as people drove past, not letting him through. I was one of those people. My first thought was, “What an arse,” but that was quickly followed, just a few meters up the road, by, “There must have been something wrong.” The only explanation for his actions was that he had an emergency. And our first response was that we knew better.

So please, stop thinking that you’re more important than the next guy because you’re as important as each other. Stop thinking that you’re problems are worse than others’ because each persons issues are big to them, and that’s what makes a difference to them.

Next time you are about to get angry with someone, ask yourself, what is their story.


thesunnyabyss November 28, 2018

:)

Deleted user November 28, 2018

Exactly . Be kind. I try to remember that .

Gilraent December 01, 2018

This.

Deleted user December 01, 2018

Amen!! I really believe this too. That instead if asking 'What's WRONG with you/him/her!", we should be compassionately asking ourselves, "I wonder what happened to you/him/her". People aren't born jerks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.