No jo mo Hogeita lau in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 24, 2018, 5:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was pointed out to me yesterday that I had missed a prompt, which is quite lucky really because the prompt I missed was about luxury - what do I consider to be a luxury?

If I had written this prompt on the correct day it would probably have been one of my waffley ones but not today dagnabbit! I’m going to take you back to yesterday (although it’s easier to go forward in time than backwards).

I had spent the day with a very tired girl following a theatre trip the evening before. She was socially exhausted from all the sounds, smells, the people, the lights. I think the only reason she was downstairs with me is because she isn’t allowed her phone upstairs.

After picking up her sister from school, I drove to hubby’s work and picked him up too, dropping them all back at home I got back in the car and faced an hour on the M4 in rush hour traffic. With accidents and lane closures aplenty, I was impressed that it only took ten minutes longer than anticipated to arrive here:

https://nirvanaspa.co.uk/

Hubby had bought me a voucher for my last birthday which turned up in a rather unexpected place when I was looking for something ofsted related last week, and was due to run out on 27th November so I booked in straight away.

The staff are all incredibly attentive, making each person feel as though they’re the special person that evening, talking in soft, soothing voices and listening attentively.

I started in the surf pool - a large, warm pool filled with water jets of different heights and intensities. As an (almost) 48 year old runner of 33 years, I aimed for a nicely powerful lower leg height jet. Leaning against the wall, armpit deep in the water, letting it massage my calves, ankles, feet. Turning around and getting my shins before dropping down to give the ITB a good pummeling. You wouldn’t believe how good it felt! I bypassed the thermal suite and the Román pool, went through the restaurant almost to the Nirvana pool but turning right to enter the garden. The garden is my main reason for liking this spa, and I only ever go in winter, because the outdoor pool is open except in extreme weather conditions. I walked, barefoot, across the paved path, the outside temperature about 7’C (44.6F). I took my robe off slowly, allowing myself to feel the cold air, then climbed into the pool. At first there was another lady in there but she left pretty soon afterwards, leaving just me in the pool. The water was warm enough to swim in (but not enough to stand around) water vapour curling up into the night air. The parts of my body under the water were warm and those out of the water felt the sting of the cold. After my swim I climbed out, slowly and deliberately, before putting my robe back on and walking to the hot tub area. One of the hot tubs was free so I climbed in, leaning back against the side and looking up into the darkness. Above me were trees, moving in the breeze, their dying leaves fluttering. Around me the gentle sounds of bubbling water and chatting groups of people in the other hot tubs.

After a while a group of women joined me so I stayed for a socially acceptable amount of time then returned to the swimming pool.

Through the windows I could see diners in their robes, enjoying dinner and so I joined them, filling my plate at the buffet with salads, meats, cheeses, tofu and other things. It was divine.

With a full belly I figured I should have a rest so went to the tepidarium; a room with ceramic heated beds, and a fountain in the middle, creating calming water sounds. Feeling incredibly relaxed by this point, I closed my eyes and let my thoughts meander. I was surprised by how much time had passed when I opened them again, giving me 25 minutes before my only appointment of the evening.

This meant going back to the thermal suite, signing in to my activity then going in the steam room for the final ten minutes of waiting.

The celestial flotation pool is the most, incredibly relaxing thing I’ve ever done. Filled with two tons of himalayan salt, it fits up to five people who lie back and let the water carry them around in circles. The ceiling of the pool is painted a very dark blue and has about 300 to 400 tiny simulated stars, twinkling above. The feeling of flotation is described to be almost like floating, weightless, in space. The next best thing. Once you get used to it, you no longer feel the water, just this effortless existence. Time becomes immaterial and the world could have stopped outside. Nothing matters anymore.

Forty five minutes later the sound of the lady in charge seeped into my brain, asking us to slowly stand up and leave the pool. In the showers she handed out different skin and hair products to use, with the option of skin creams afterwards.

From there I returned outside and spent an hour, mostly swimming in the pool but also with some time in the hot tub. Several people tried the pool while I was there but most people didn’t stay long. At almost 10 o’clock I climbed out, slowly again. The temperature had dropped considerably and the cold stung my skin in the most delicious way.

So. Why is this my idea of luxury? Firstly, the opulence and pampering involved but secondly it’s about the autonomy. I do what I want when I want without having to take anyone else’s needs into consideration.

And I get to swim outside, in the winter ❄️🏊‍♀️


Deleted user November 24, 2018

Oh my goodness... it sounds divine!! Can you try to get there once or twice a year? It would be such a great break to look forward to. I love the feeling of hot water with cold air. You described it all perfectly.

thesunnyabyss November 24, 2018

that sounds like a most wonderful luxurious place,

have you ever been to an isolation tank, very much like th celestial floatation but in an enclosed(if you want it closed at least) tank, it's an amazing experience,

Deleted user November 24, 2018

That sounds wonderful! I have never heard of anything like it around where I live :-(

Gilraent November 27, 2018

Whoa. That sounds absolutely wonderful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.