No jo mo Bîst du in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 22, 2018, 4:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What is the hardest decision I’ve ever had to make?

I’m pretty spontaneous, I don’t spend a long time agonising over decisions. I go with what feels right in any given moment. Nothing lasts forever right? There’s always space in the future for change if that decision turns out to not be so stonking.

I think the decision that I found the toughest was to leave the first marriage, way back in the olden days (‘94). It wasn’t because I wasn’t sure whether to leave or not, I knew that was what I wanted, it was because of the ripples. I would lose a whole group of friends (the fact that losing them would be harder than losing him says something), the chicken effect of having to actually tell him and how my parents world react were the biggest blocks.

However, my real friends stuck with me, he reacted badly but quickly met the woman who he married shortly after our divorce and my parents wholeheartedly supported my decision. So, all’s well that ends well n all that.

The only lingering trauma I have from that marriage is a deep, belly filled hatred for the song Lady In Red which he associated with a night that he cheated on me. He even commented on it to me once, while we were together. So, sorry Chris De Burgh, I hate your song but without that reason i’d probably still think it was a pile of drivelly shit!!


Deleted user November 22, 2018

Are you and your ex still in touch? I'm glad the friends stuck around!

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ November 22, 2018

Oh goodness me no!! He was mysoginistic, homophobic, racist and xenophobic - I just didn't discover until after we were married!! Z

Gilraent November 24, 2018

Your ex sounds like mine. And life is sooo much easier without that hate in my life.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.