The One Where I Hack the PB Text Box... in Public

  • Feb. 10, 2014, 6:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hack in the positive sense, nothing harmful.

That tiny text box always makes me feel constrained. I like seeing more of my words when I'm writing as I edit myself moving back and forth a lot. Rather than keep bugging Simple Mind about making this adjustable, I usually do this tiny hack, and I thought I'd share.

This is a Chrome trick. You can do it on other browsers, but I'm too lazy to type up instructions for other browsers.

From the "Create new entry" page, right-click on the edit box and choose "Inspect Element" from the context menu. A new pane should open with the HTML code highlighted, looking something like this:

<textarea class="textarea form-control md-input" cols="40" id="entry-content" name="content" rows="10" style="resize: none;"></textarea>

Double-click the "10" for rows="10". Change it to 20 or 30 and hit enter. You could also add some "cols" to make a wider text box. You can close the pane by clicking the tiny ex in the upper right of the pane. Now your text box gives you some breathing room.

Please note: PB is in no way harmed by this little hack.


simple mind February 10, 2014

If PB could be harmed by the Chrome Developer Tools, then shame on me for not doing server side validation. :)

And I totally want to overhaul that editor screen anyway! (when I get a chance)

Overachiever simple mind ⋅ February 10, 2014

Oh I know. Just figured I'd share the trick for anybody else who might like it in the meantime. :-)

MJ's Page February 10, 2014

Kewl

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.