No jo mo sedecim in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 16, 2018, 4:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, what would make a cray cray vacay? I really don’t know - so many destinations and experiences appeal to me. And what does the prompt mean by crazy? Crazy = ridiculous, crazy = insane or crazy = out and out fun?

I think, for me, a holiday (because that’s what Brits call a vacation) that I would never take (without it being forced upon me) would be an all inclusive. You arrive at the airport, get picked up by a shuttle bus that drops you at the hotel. The hotel provides all the food, drink and entertainment that you could possibly need. Everyone either is English or speaks impecable English… Which is fine unless you wanted to explore the culture of your destination a little.

For me, testing out public transportation, food and local entertainment. Trying out languages (even if I get laughed at or (as has happened to me in Switzerland and the Netherlands) I get asked to just speak English please 😂) is what travelling to other countries is all about.

I also don’t like the Brit Youth type of holiday (and didn’t at that age either), that of drinking too much, clubbing in naff bars and copping off with all and sundry. And for non-regular readers, you should know that ibiza is one of my heart homes, both children have ibiza related names and I’ve done plenty of clubbing there. I’ve danced for hours at Space and Privilege to name a couple. But I avoid San Antonio which is aimed at the drunken brit culture. My first ever Spanish teacher was from San Antonio and he had sworn that he would never learn English, go out with an English girl or buy an English motorbike (he was a biker). All because the only knowledge he had of British people was the drunks in San An’s West end. He then met an English girl and fell in love. He ended up marrying her, moving to England and buying a Triumph.

Anyway, tangent over - a crazy, fun vacation is one in which I could run in all my dream running locations. And eat lots of good food to make up for it!


Deleted user November 16, 2018

Sounds wonderful ! I shall have to look up pictures of Ibiza .

thesunnyabyss November 16, 2018

that's always been my issue with the all inclusives,

Ibiza sounds amazing!

Gilraent November 18, 2018

Sounds wonderful :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.