February the 10th in Everything Else

  • Feb. 10, 2014, 3:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Freezing this morning, now roasting, such is life in this building. I don’t think any contractor ever gets HVAC right. Every few offices are on a different thermostat, one side of the building gets direct sunlight, this side doesn’t. It is a no win situation. I definitely should have gone in to the HVAC business. I could be making a fortune. $180 for a callout x every business in town = $$$$$ Daddy Warbucks kind of money I would think.

I am beginning to think of Mondays as totally useless unless I am under a deadline. Last week I had billing, this week, nothing. I spent part of the morning going through files. I cannot be the only person who loves to look back at old computer files to see what was going on X years ago. Plus all my journal entries are fun to read. Sadly some of them could apply easily to today. I am not sure if that means I haven’t grown, or that I am grown enough that shit stays the same.

Time for lunch with the bitch. Always a fun and exciting part of the day. I can’t imagine there will be much to talk about. Just more passive-aggressive bitchiness from her and me just letting it roll off because I truly don’t give a shit anymore.

Well lunch was not fun. I love Jimmy Kimmel & she hates him. I don’t like Jimmy Fallon & she loves him. I swear she does half this shit just to spite me. I shoveled snow, she shoveled more. Seriously grow the fuck up already!

I got my 1099 stuff all mailed out. Glad to have that off my desk. I need to get started on my big credit card project but the thought of it turns my stomach.

I hate a lot of things or dislike if hate is too strong for you. I hate people who post pictures of food. It is gross to see half eaten food or something that resembles dog vomit on a play with the tag “Yum”. I hate people who take pictures of sunsets…every fucking day. I hate that people complain about snow & cold weather in the middle of fucking winter! It is winter. It is supposed to snow and be cold. If there wasn’t snow and ice, you could not watch the Winter Olympics. I don’t complain about the snow or the cold. Why? Because I fucking hate summer. I hate the heat with the passion of a thousand Salem witches being lit on fire. I hate the sun. If I could live in a perpetually cool, damp, cloudy world I would be so happy. I believe I summer from Reverse SAD. It is the only explanation that does not involve me having a dark heart.

One thing about winter, snow blindness! I don’t leave a light on in my office because I detest fluorescent overhead lighting. It is the work of the devil. I have a large window and open the blinds and today my office is so bright, I am considering wearing my shades!

I am a spoiler whore. I have not been watching the Olympics because I already know what has happened and I really just don’t care to watch speed skating and figure skating. I am not a fan of figure skating. The music, the costumes, the skating that does not match the music in any way, the made up words (triple toe loop…really, what is that?), none of that appeals to me. Women’s hockey? Please show me to four hours of paint drying thank you very much. Men’s hockey I watch. Men’s hockey is about the only thing I really care about in the Olympics. And that shit doesn’t start for a few more days.

Le sigh…I cannot think of a single thing that I could work on this afternoon that would make it go by faster. I have some mail to sort, which might take ½ an hour and then nothing really. If I do too much today then I am stuck for the rest of the week. I could file but I always save that for Friday and then never do it, so that wouldn’t be fun once Friday rolled around. I guess I could listen to the bitch complain about how much work she has to do. Believe me, nobody has too much work in the building, nobody.

And with that I am done for now…


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.