NoJoMo 14 -- Dandelion Wine in NoJoMo 2018

  • Nov. 14, 2018, 10:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

10th grade English class. We were doing a unit on science fiction. After the assigned books, (neither of which I liked, not being a sci fi fan at the time), Mr. Bailey said we were to select two books of own choosing, and write a paper comparing and contrasting them.

I very much wanted to read Jonathan Livingston Seagull, which had just come out and was a bestseller. At first, Mr. Bailey objected to my choice, saying I should pick something more challenging. I must have looked disappointed, because he relented, but on one condition: my second book would have to be Dandelion Wine.

He said that of all his students, I would “get” the book, and he insisted I read it. I’d never heard of the book or author, and wasn’t that enthusiastic about having my “free choice” selected for me, but I reluctantly agreed, since I didn’t have another book in mind and I really wanted to read Jonathan Livingston Seagull.

I don’t know if I “got it”, but i absolutely loved Dandelion Wine. It is the book that got me interested in sci fi in general, and in Ray Bradbury especially. I went on to read almost everything else he wrote, even though I’m not usually a fan of short stories (they feel unfinished and unsatisfying).

I am forever grateful to Mr. Bailey for assigning me that book, and even more so for his somehow knowing that it was the right book for me.

Dandelion Wine


ConnieK November 14, 2018

We read many of the same books, it seems. :)

Deleted user November 14, 2018

I love them both !

Deleted user November 14, 2018

I am not a big short story fan either.

Deleted user November 14, 2018

Reading, “ The Lost Queen” by Signe Pike right now. I think you would like it .

GypsyWynd Deleted user ⋅ November 14, 2018

It does sound like my kind of book. I put a hold on it at the library. Thanks for the suggestion. 😃

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.