Easier To Believe in Original Writings

Revised: 11/12/2018 2:21 p.m.

  • Sept. 27, 2018, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know I’ve had way too much time
Ran circles around the circles I’ve run in my head
Just give me some days in your life
And you’ll take back every good word you’ve said
If anything even remains
When all of this dust settles into the floor
I won’t look at myself the same
I don’t even recognize me anymore

It’s easy to believe in the devil
When there’s no light that shines from above
And it’s easier to believe I’m a monster
Than to know you’d leave someone you love

There once was a heart in my chest
It beat with a purpose and sincerity
I gave all, there is nothing left
I say this with unsolicited clarity
If anything even remains
When all of this time slowly passes me by
I don’t know if I’ll want to stay
Because if I can’t be loved, why am I still alive?

It’s easy to believe in the devil
When there’s no light that shines from above
And it’s easier to believe I’m a monster
Than to know you’d leave someone you love

And it’s easier to design an enemy
Than it is to cultivate a friend
And it’s easier to walk away from destiny
When you can’t control how the story will end

I don’t know where to go from here
Except just to go
I don’t know what to go for
Except that I’m going alone
I even feel so weak
That I hate these words I speak
I’m so tired of myself
But I can’t be someone else

It’s easy to believe in the devil
When there’s no light that shines from above
And it’s easier to believe I’m a monster
Than to know you’d leave someone you love

And it’s easier to believe the worst of me
Than to know that you’d discard the best
And it’s easier to let you just hurt me
When the pain is all that we have left


Last updated November 12, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.