Age Of Heroes in Original Writings

Revised: 11/12/2018 8:07 p.m.

  • Aug. 22, 2018, 4 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The age of heroes crumbles utterly
We’re hellbent to destroy all legacies
We all agree that it’s corrupt and always been
But I won’t cast stones before I know the sin
No role models, no legends, no more myths
Let it sink like a continental drift
Pronounce the guilt, take sides, yell, scream and shout
I refuse to follow suit, I have my doubts
I’ve lived some lives and commited some wrongs
I’ve broken hearts and lead myself along
I’ve been a fool, a liar, a hypocrite
A thief, a scoundrel - and grew out of it
I went from lamb to lion and in between
I can’t recount all things I’ve done and seen
I’m no hero, but I’m no enemy
I’m nothing more and nothing less than me
Despite how we depict the crude and strange
I know enough to know that we all change
Just who are we to tear each other down?
Your opinions are a deafening, hollow sound
Because you’re so busy trying to be right
You don’t care if it ruins someone’s life
Offenses were meant to be disciplined
Learned from, grown from, taught to, not permanent
If everyone was just their circumstance
Then no one would deserve a second chance
And if that’s how most of you feel today
Then I’d rather not be here anyway
So if we’re going to share this fragile earth
Let’s measure what our lives are really worth
Before you etch your vitriol to stone
Ponder if it’s all just best left alone
Or better yet, I dare you once to try
To shake the scales off of your closed eyes
Extend a hand, an ear, a heart, your time
You’ll find that yours might be quite close to mine


Last updated November 12, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.