Didn't Ask in Original Writings

Revised: 11/12/2018 7:55 p.m.

  • Aug. 6, 2018, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I didn’t ask to be here
I was born into this earth
From a violent act
In a violent place
From a violent man’s seed
And a resentful woman’s womb
I was not a plan
I was a problem from the start
And like a problem
I am constantly in search of solutions
I didn’t ask to become anything
Don’t tell me what I am
I didn’t ask to be like you
Despite your cries to conform
I’ve had a long way to go
But I never went that way
You fear what you don’t understand
So you fear me
I’m not a headline
I’m a human fucking being
I’m not an article
I’m standing right here
Judge me as I am
Not as I was written about
The book is right the fuck in front of you
Look me in the eyes and read my whole life
I’m alive in a world I can’t make peace with
Longing for one that doesn’t exist
So in my head I go
Because there’s no place like that home
I don’t want to be there
But I didn’t ask to be here
And these days I just don’t know
Where else I can go
Except to myself


Last updated November 12, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.