No jo mo on iki in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 12, 2018, 8:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, according to the prompt I have a new job. It’s my dream job. Full contract has been signed and we’re good to go. At this point I discover that the ceo is someone I hate. What is the back story and how do I handle it?

Well, I’m struggling with the word hate - really not a favourite of mine as hate is such an intense emotion. Someone I dislike or someone who irritates me would be a lot better. I mean, the penultimate head teacher I worked for wasn’t one of my favourite people. In fact, I actively disliked her, but I wouldn’t say I hated her. How did I deal with it? The way anyone should: I was polite to her, I did my job properly and I subtley rebelled - although I didn’t shave a third of my head until after she left…

You see, emotion shouldn’t come into a boss/employee situation to such an extent. If the person is a CEO you probably won’t be having a huge amount to do with them unless you’re their pa or something similar and, let’s face it, who’s dream job is to be a pa?!

They’re your boss, you are their employee and you have a contract. You have a job of work to do which you do to the best of your ability, especially as it’s in a field you love; I mean, it’s your dream job!! Suck it up, don’t get sucked into hate fueled misery and live your best life.

I shall now put my soap box away, step down and look around in the faintly embarrassed way of a true brit.

Lya!!


thesunnyabyss November 12, 2018

yep!

Deleted user November 12, 2018

I never had a “ Dream Job” but I can imagine for that I could suck it up :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.