NoJoMo 11 -- Island Of the Blue Dolphins in NoJoMo 2018

  • Nov. 11, 2018, 9:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I was growing up, there weren’t a lot of “adventure” stories for (or about) girls. But there was this one. The first time I read it, I was about he same age as the main character. It made such a deep impression on me that I read it at least once a year for about the next 5 years. It remains a favorite.

I almost named my Aussie “Rontu” after the dog in the book, but the ex didn’t like it.

IOTBD


Deleted user November 11, 2018

I loved that book ! That and “ The Witch of Blackbird Pond “.

GypsyWynd Deleted user ⋅ November 11, 2018

I read that one, too. How about Caddie Woodlawn?

Deleted user GypsyWynd ⋅ November 11, 2018

I have not read that one !

FitLadyDi November 11, 2018

I have NEVER "met" anyone else who even knew about this book. I own this book! I try to read it every few years as a reminder of when I believed everything was possible. I'll have to go do that again. For some reason seeing this absolutely made my day. Maybe because you "get it" too, the meaning of "girl power" shown throughout the book...
Did you read "Zia", the sequel?

GypsyWynd FitLadyDi ⋅ November 11, 2018

Yes, I did, but as an adult. I'd never even known he'd written a sequel until I saw it on the library shelf where I was working. I always wondered what became of her, so I was glad to read the sequel.

NeonLady November 11, 2018

I loved this book as a kid too!

Deleted user November 11, 2018

I loved that book too!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.