Week 11- Ferns in Nature Journal

Revised: 11/09/2018 7:27 p.m.

  • Nov. 9, 2018, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think this entry is going to be a very random and out of place one. It deals with nature, which is what a nature journal ought to do-but from my previous 10 posts it is extremely different.

As I came to my spot this week, I received a picture from my mother showing snow outside our house back home. I also noticed a Fern in the picture she sent and for some reason I felt the need to look up different types of Ferns and to see if they can withstand our harsh Winters. This also led into a search about the many types of ferns and if they grow in the desert.

I stumbled upon this great blog about the search for Ferns in the Winter, https://blogshewrote.org/2017/12/30/study-ferns/
it also has many great recourses and ideas for nature bloggers.

I have always loved Fern plants. Many people overlook them and even catagorise them as a weed where I’m from. My grandma lived in the woods and her house was surrounded by them. My summers and Autumns were full of adventures rolling in soft moss and ferns that tickled your skin. I even bought a stamp that depicts a fern that I seal my envelopes with. To be honest, I’ve even considered getting one tattooed.

What a whimsical and mundane plant to hold such a love for. I was discouraged when reading the other blog that seemed to talk about ferns as water and shade-loving plants. I wanted to find some in the desert, and I came across this blog that discusses the various types of ferns found in the desert, https://aneyefortexas.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/desert-ferns/

To my surprise, I found one in the prayer garden! All this time I had admired it and thought it was just a strange desert-plant, when in reality it was a type of fern.
Unfortunately this site is picky with uploading photos for the past few weeks, and I haven’t been able to link them.

I want to continue to monitor this plant closely over the next few weeks as the temperature changes and see if I can make any observations. I only wish I had realised this much sooner in the school year.

Hopefully this post was relevant to this nature journal, if not- at least it was enjoyable and new information for me!


Last updated November 09, 2018


pgherron November 09, 2018

Not random at all! I too love ferns. One of my favorite places to visit is the San Francisco Botanical Garden and the nearby Conservatory and both have hidden areas with beautiful ferns. We just visited the SF Museum of Modern Art again yesterday and they have an amazing "living wall' with many different varieties of ferns so reading this was a delighful reminder of their beauty. Best of all is the springtime when the little fiddleheads are just emerging. Don't try this at home without a naturalist correctly identifying the variety but you might enjoy this: https://www.gardenguides.com/86175-eat-fiddlehead-ferns.html

katacon pgherron ⋅ November 17, 2018

How neat! I didn't even know that was possible, very interesting! Thanks for sharing, it sounds lovely there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.