NoJoMo 8 -- Through Many Colored Glasses in NoJoMo 2018

  • Nov. 8, 2018, 10:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I was little, I would wake up very early on Saturday mornings and go to my grandmother’s room (which was next to mine). I would get in her bed, and she would sing me old songs like “Over There”, “Tenting Tonight” (we’d pull the covers over our heads for that), and “Let Me Call You Sweetheart”. Sometimes she would sing in Italian. I loved, and still remember a lullaby she taught me.

She would tell me stories (I liked “Hansel and Gretel” best), and read to me. This book is one I would often bring to her to read from. It was published in 1945, and was Mom’s when she was a girl. It was probably my first introduction to poetry, and it has wonderful ones. “A Visit From St. Nicholas”, “The Land of Counterpane”, “Trees”, “Wynken, Blynken, and Nod”, and “Fairies”, just to name a few. Oh, and “Purple Cow”. The illustrations are old fashioned and lovely.

Now, he pages are yellow and brittle, the binding’s been taped, the cover and pages are loose. It has been well read and well loved over 2 generations.

TMCG


Last updated November 08, 2018


Deleted user November 08, 2018

But you still have it ! That is wonderful and what sweet memories !

Emerald November 08, 2018

A treasure trove of memories! How special that you still have it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.