Lets talk some TV in Everything

  • Nov. 7, 2018, 3:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Been quite a while. So, let’s ease back into this with some talk about TV. I’ve been working from home quite a bit these last few weeks, 4 sometimes all 5 days, my boss doesn’t mind as long as the work gets done and I seem to get more done at home. I usually have the morning news on in the background and then when the news is over some of the worst and, in my opinion, the most offensive shows come on. “The View”, “The Real” and “The Talk”. I’m not sure in what order or on what station they are on but it doesn’t much matter, they are clones of each other. I watched a few minutes of each here and there and I am actually shocked at how bad they are. 4 or 5, seemingly mildly retarded women yammering on about the most ridiculously mundane topics. And every once in a while falling back into some weird white girl ghetto talk. Now I know I’m not their “Target Audience”, I’m an educated, working, middle class, white male between the ages of 18 and 50. . But it made me think who re these shows aimed at? My best guess is that it’s aimed at Stay at Home Moms, judging by the time it’s on. Now I do have to say that I have a lot of respect for SAHMs, my mom was on for a while when I was young. But I believe that the studio execs and producers of these shows obviously don’t have any respect for the intellect of their audience. If I were a stay at home mom I would be extremely offended at these shows. Compare one of these shows to some of the sitcoms or dramas that air at night (prime time) and you will see the stark difference. I’m not much of a fan of what’s on at night either but intellect level is slightly higher while still able to advertise to the lowest common denominator. Anyway I know there are a few SAHMs on this site, how do you feel about those shows?
So what do I watch? Mostly sports and news, and some Amazon Prime shows. Is it just me or is prime time really bad lately, like for the past couple of years? There are only 2 shows that I can think of that I watch, “The Guest Book” and “Mayans” and I’m losing interest in Mayans, there are like 6 episodes on my DVR I just haven’t had any ambition to watch. Just a few years ago, there was mildly entertaining TV. “Friday Night Lights”, “Sons of Anarchy”, “Heroes”, “Justified” sprinkle in some “Homeland” and “Shameless” and you have yourself a good night. I know “Shameless” is still on but it’s not quite the same.

I’ll try to write here more often, I’m sure you have all missed me terribly.


donut November 07, 2018

Have you watched The Good Place? If not, you should! The first two seasons are on Netflix 😊

Pies on a Carousel November 08, 2018

If I see a new show that looks interesting, I immediately lose interest if I find out it's being put out ABC, NBC, or CBS. The once-major networks don't produce anything decent anymore.

1356 November 09, 2018

I have a varied range of things that I binge. Currently, in no particular order, I'm watching: Arrow, Riverdale, Midnight Texas, Good Omens, Black Mirror, Designated Survivor and Daredevil.

They're all very different and it just depends on my mood. I second The Good Place though. Great comedy, short episodes as well as a little existential crises for good measure.

Sho September 12, 2019

The last decent thing I watched on Netflix was Mindhunter, but even that seemed not to live up to its promise.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.