Good morning, I guess! in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 6, 2018, 8:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s 5:58 a.m. on a work day, and here I sit at my dining room table, in my jammies, with a cup of coffee. I’m not calling in sick or anything. I am just up an hour earlier than I need to be because I can’t read a damn clock. Recently I moved my Amazon Alexa Spot into my bedroom and got rid of the old iPhone dock clock I’ve had for many years (iPhones don’t fit in the dock anymore and anyway, I don’t have an iPhone). The Amazon Alexa Spot has about 9-10 different clock faces you can choose. I chose one that looks very cool but it’s very difficult to tell the difference between 5:30 and 6:30, for example. So I got up and fed the dogs, made coffee, etc., and then realized I got up at 5:30 instead of 6:30. Gah!

Well, maybe I’ll take the dogs to work with me today. I can’t say that I don’t have enough time to get their carseat and care bag set up.

Yesterday Brian and I ordered our turkey for Thanksgiving. Last year we got a fresh (not frozen) organic turkey from Whole Foods for the first time. At that time we learned about Heritage or Heirloom turkeys:

These birds are very similar to what would have been eaten by the Pilgrims (the Standard Bronze, which is what I cooked, was the most popular turkey breed leading up to the spread of factory farming in the mid-20th century). They have proportionally smaller breasts, darker leg meat, and are generally gamier in flavor than industrially raised turkeys. Heritage birds are also older than conventional birds at the age of slaughter (26-28 weeks compared to 14-18 weeks), which results in sturdier meat.

NGP Seal for FSIS
Certified Organic & NON-GMO Project Verified
No gluten, casein, carrageenan, phosphates, MSG, artificial ingredients or preservatives
No added salt solutions and ice-chilled for quality
No antibiotics, growth stimulants, or hormones
100% Vegetarian Diet, enhanced with vitamins and minerals
GAP Rated Step 3
The American Heirloom Collection Turkeys range from 10-30 lbs.

So we were interested in trying one, but by the time we tried to reserve one last year, they were sold out. This year we were just in time, so we’ll be giving it a try this Thanksgiving. They are significantly more expensive than a regular organic fresh turkey and much more than a frozen turkey. I read several comparisons and taste testing results that seemed positive so, we’ll see. I wasn’t really sure about spending more money for it but Brian is buying it and he’s willing to pay that much.

I really need to start figuring out what I’m going to buy everyone for Christmas. I go through this every year – I have absolutely no idea what to get anyone, and then suddenly I get inspired, and I come up with gift ideas that excite me. I am counting on that happening again (and soon).

My laptop, which is a Mac, almost didn’t start up the other day. I got what looked like the black screen of death. I restarted it and it booted up just fine but I consider that a warning. I’ve been backing it up daily. I’ve been saying for quite a while that when it is time to replace my laptop I will go with a Windows laptop because I can get so much more for so much less money and it will meet my needs just as adequately as the Mac does. So I’ve been researching them and am going to see if there are any good Black Friday deals. The only thing about Black Friday is that I think most of the deals are actually in the stores, not on line – isn’t that why there is Cyber Monday? And I don’t want to go to any stores on Black Friday. But they say that is the best day to buy electronics. So we’ll see. My only hesitation about switching from Mac to Windows is that I save ALL my emails, going back many years, and they are very hard to convert from one system to another. And yet, is that a reason to spend so much more money on a new Mac laptop? I don’t think so, but it’s something I’ve got to consider.

Well, I guess I should go get my shower and get moving, especially if I want to have time to get things ready for taking the dogs with me to work. Have a great day everyone – and I hope it WILL turn out to be a great day.


Just Annie November 06, 2018

I got an early start to the day, too, but that's because of the time change. My clock and body don't agree yet on the time. Have a great day!

GypsyWynd November 06, 2018

I got an earlier start than I wanted, too, but not by choice. Nougat is still on daylight savings time, and got me up at 6:20. I went back to bed, but she got me up an hour later. I need to teach her to tell time.😉

Zipster November 06, 2018

I did the same thing this morning, surprised my husband who asked what I was doing up. I'll be interested to hear your assessment of the turkey. Can't believe it's already Holiday shopping time of year already.

plushcreep November 07, 2018

I guess today wiped out that extra hour you got to enjoy over the weekend!

Beret November 10, 2018

I'm awful when it comes to Christmas shopping. Then it's the last minute and I'm really screwed. Maybe I should make an effort to do better this year.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.