Whoa! in QUOTIDIEN

  • Feb. 10, 2014, 9:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is my favorite, all-time sound these days. Happens whenever I measure, step on a scale, or try on those pants I'd almost determined I'd not get into ever again.

If today is the 10th (isn't it?), I have been gluten free for 41 days. I have lost a total of 17.2 lbs, and have lost 15" since I began measuring on January 29th.

I am fitting well in my size 16s...and those clearly vanity sized 14s without any muffin top. At least not in the morning. LOL

We have now moved from asking if I've changed my hair to commenting on my eyes and 'glowingness'. The latter is funny because there is this guy at my church who is selling these day and night creams (at the low, low price of one arm, and a still wet newborn). I tried the product about a month ago, so unless there has been some delayed reaction, I'm going to say it's the lack of circles under my eyes, and my facial structure has re-emerged.

I'm feeling much better than I have in quite some time - energetic, and encouraged!

On a sadder note, I was washing my hands yesterday, shook my hands in the sink, and my wedding ring flew off. I have priced having it sized and we're talking at least $100 because of the type of setting. So, I'm wearing a different ring temporarily until construction picks up again.

And on an aggravating note: my sister, who has been recording moderate contractions ever 10 minutes since Friday, is not even dilated, yet! I'm starting to believe this is all just a really bad case of gas. Of course, if she ever produces an infant, we'll have to name her Flatulence...or Fart, for short.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 10, 2014

that's a terrific weight loss! you are doing so well. don't know that i'd be happy being pregnant and having contractions every 10 minutes for 3 days and nothing is going on. take care,

MJ's Page February 10, 2014

Thanks for the compliments, you guys.

Pintador February 10, 2014

I remember an old high school friend losing a contact down the sink and my dad disassembling it and retrieving the contact from the pipe. Guess there's no way for you to do that?

Are people in your midst all blind? Someone loses 17 lbs and they STILL can't see it? We should start taking bets on here for when you'll receive your first "Mj, have you lost weight?!!" I'll pick March 15, 2014. Make a mental note.

MJ's Page Pintador ⋅ February 10, 2014

It has been my experience that people go straight from 'did you change your hair' to 'OMG! You've lost a TON!'

MJ's Page Pintador ⋅ February 11, 2014

...at which point, I'm most likely to say (and have, in the past), 'Really? An entire ton, you think?' heheheh I'm the same woman who, with a straight face, told a woman who thought it was perfectly acceptable to rub both hands on my about-to-burst pregnancy mountain and asking when I was due, "Due? I'm NOT pregnant!" I never corrected myself or broke eye contact. Bet she never touches another strange woman's belly....ever.

GypsyWynd February 10, 2014

congratulations!! 17 lbs is great! Hope you didn't lose your ring.

MJ's Page GypsyWynd ⋅ February 11, 2014

Nope. When it comes to my rings, I'm faster than light!

GypsyWynd February 10, 2014

Maybe they could name the baby "Effluvia"? It has a nice musical sound to it (better than the actual sound, anyway!)

MJ's Page GypsyWynd ⋅ February 11, 2014

Heh! Love it. Effie, for short.

Overachiever February 11, 2014

That's awesome!

NorthernSeeker February 11, 2014

And don't you just feel so much stronger now that you aren't lugging that 17.2 pounds around with every step?

MJ's Page NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 11, 2014

I feel like stairs aren't going to kill me. I feel like I can run out to the mailbox without first making an appointment with a cardiologist or taking a 2 hour nap afterwards.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.