I Voted! in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Nov. 3, 2018, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The early voting thing went surprisingly smoothly and I would do it again. It takes away so much stress of voting on actual election day.

I worked today and it was a Saturday Plus shift. I came in early to see a co-workers pets. I had a four-dog vaccine appointment (that was appropriately scheduled!) but it turned into more than vaccines and of course some of the dogs wanted to bite me and I diagnosed one with heartworm disease! It was exhausting. I had a male intact dog who was overly amorous with my leg if you know what I mean. Damn, he was persistent! I dealt with Dr. J’s hospitalized patient.

I euthanized a patient with a mystery illness that we never figured out despite doing so many diagnostics. That was the hardest part of my day. I really like that patient’s owner (and the patient. She was super sweet). She cried so much. It was her first time going through euthanasia with a pet of her own. It was my last thing of the day so I was able to stay and talk with her for at least half an hour, which I think was helpful for her. She told me that she had taken photos for a Christmas card a few months ago and the cards arrived yesterday. She was going to send them out, but let everyone know her pet had passed away. It was so sad. “Well, at least maybe your relatives will feel sorry for you and give you extra good Christmas gifts” was what popped out of my mouth before I could filter my attempt at gallows humor. She laughed, so that’s good at least. Everything went smoothly and I think I helped her feel a little better.

I’m feeling a bit burnt out, though.

I stress shopped and bought some too expensive but beautiful boots.

Also, enjoyed this sign in my local coffee shop’s bathroom:

alt text

Oh! And I saw some of the NE Minneapolis turkeys running around after leaving the coffee shop! Here’s a video (no one got run over):

Turkeys

I sound really Minnesotan in this, though I don’t think any audio uploaded?


Jigger November 04, 2018 (edited November 04, 2018)

Edited

Turkeys!

Yay for voting, and double yay for early voting. I'm so glad to have it out of the way.

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ November 04, 2018

Yes! I've never done early voting before but would definitely do it again!

TellTaleHeart November 05, 2018

LOL at your gallows humor... I'm glad she laughed too!

Why are boots always so expensive? I mean, I get it... there's more material and workmanship compared to, say, a ballet flat, but still.

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ November 17, 2018

It's crazy how expensive boots are! I spend so much time on my feet so finding ones that are comfortable all day means more $$$. Boo.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.