A Funny Story in Regular Stuff

  • Feb. 11, 2014, 9:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello everyone! This place is beginning to feel more like home : )

So I have a little story for you. The story really begins last summer. My friend Debbie and I had gone out to eat one Friday night as we often do. Afterwards, we went to Wal-Mart so I could do my grocery shopping. We came out about 11:30 and loaded the groceries in the car. When I got in and turned the key, nothing happened. I mean nothing! Figuring it must be the battery, we asked a man for a jump start. We get it all set up and he goes to hook the battery cables up and can't find the battery! It turns out that my battery is located underneath the back passengers seat! I found this out through the owners manual. Oddly enough there is still a place to hook up the battery cables. The jump start did not work. This man, and another kind stranger, were determined to get my car going. Finally, after a good 30 mins. or so, I thanked them profusely and told them I was going to call for a tow. I waited about 45 minutes for the tow truck (Debbie's sister had come and taken Debbie and my groceries home). I just sat there praying , got out and stretched my legs, got back in, decided to try and start it once more and what do you know? It started right up! And we never had a problem since.

Until 2 weeks ago. Once again, it was me and Deb, went out to get a sandwich and the car would not start! It was freezing out so I decided to wait about a half hour just to see if maybe it would start. It did not so again I call for a tow.

Let me just briefly touch on the experience of getting up in the tow truck. It was hilarious and a little bit humiliating. I am very overweight and have a bad leg, full of hardware, from a double compound fracture I suffered some years ago. Let me just say, this is not a good combination for hoisting one's self up into a very high truck. It took several tries but I did it LOL. Please know that myself and the people I surround myself with, all have a good sense of humor. Laughing at ourselves and each other is a way of life for us, so this was not a traumatic incident for me and the driver could not have been nicer.

So he brings us home, and of course the first thing I want to do is get in the car to see if it would start. I sat down in the seat, looked at the key and had probably the biggest epiphany of my life. Are you ready for this?!? I had been trying to start the car with the wrong key!! Suddenly, it all made sense. I always use Aimee's keyring because she has both the car and house keys on it. She also has work keys on there including one very large key. Most of the time I just feel for the right key and use the biggest one. This explains everything including the Wal-Mart incident last summer. This key would turn all the way, all the lights would come on, etc. But it just wouldn't start the car. At Wal-Mart, when I got out to stretch, I automatically took the keys out of the ignition. When I got back in, I obviously inserted the correct key so of course it started right up. It also explains why it never happened again for all those months.

I do believe this may qualify as the dumbest thing I've ever done. Not once, but twice. Fortunately the tow fee was covered by my insurance and it gave us a good laugh.

So, how about you tell me about one of your dumb moments to make me feel better about mine lol.


Duke February 11, 2014

The key fit in the ignition?

FishTacoLover February 12, 2014

This is a classic!

Anaiss February 12, 2014

In hindsight, that story is hilarious! I'm sorry you had to go through such inconvenience on two occasions because of it though!

Deleted user April 02, 2014

How did I miss your entry? I'm so sorry. I do not understand how the bookmarks on Prosebox works yet and unfortunately I've missed some entries. Do you know, I would have a hard time climbing up into a big tow truck too. I'm so overweight. And, I'm glad you figured the mystery out when it came to starting your car. Yep, using the right key makes a difference. LOL! I hope you will write again because I love to read your entries. And, I hope you are doing well.

Deleted user April 23, 2014

Easy Diary is up! Go sign up!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.