Stranger and stranger in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • Feb. 10, 2014, 2:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am up early to head out to meet up with my friend early yesterday when my phone rings and it's my son's ringtone. I am a bit surprised that he would have his phone in jail, but I answered it. "Hey Mom, let me tell you what's going on..." to make a long story short, he reported to the county corrections to serve his time and he couldn't go in because of complications with the paper work. He is now so supposed to report back in APRIL! So, he got a short get out of jail free card for another 2 months. BUT that being said, he went on to tell me that the water main to the house had broken during the night and they had no water in the house this morning and a flood in the front yard. Hubby and I actually own the house, so it's our responsibility to get it fixed. I told him to get everything taken care of and I will pay for it and submit the bill for reimbursement to the home owners insurance. So a couple of hours later and $700.00 they have water again. His mood was very dark - the jail time still hanging over his head and the major repair to the house, he just felt like everything was going against him. Today, he was much better and starting to realize things happen for a reason, even if it's just moments, there are bright spots.

I spent the day helping my friend get her shopping done, making sure she ate, and helped her take the temporary cast off her arm, washed the wound, redressed the area with the stitches and than gently messaged oil into the skin, let it soak in for a few moments and added some moisturizers, slid the cast back on and got her to rest. After she was nearly asleep I left and headed toward home. I had a craft table in the back of my car my friend wanted my daughter to have, so I called daughter and went by her house. We got the table out of the car and carried ti up the steep and winding stairwell to her apartment. She was thrilled to get it and had a space for it already. Before I left she had gotten a call from a friend to meet up at the coffee shop, so I told her I'd drop her off there as I left town. It was a short visit but a good one.

I really wanted to sleep in this morning since I didn't get home until 10PM. But at 7:30 AM I got a call from another friend who lives an hour away- wanting me to come out. So, I dragged my butt out of bed and pulled myself together and went that direction... My intent was to ask for the money back he owes me, and I did but it went on deaf ears. I even mentioned it twice and both times he completely ignored me. So I think I am going to send an invoice every month until it's paid back. Maybe that will get his attention. Anyway, I let him buy lunch and knew I had to head back since I had to get to the college for a sorority meeting (I am the faculty adviser for this sorority - we only have one on campus and there are 11 young women in the chapter).

The girls are planning the Relay for Life event and have decided to include hair cuts for Lock of Love. My hair hasn't been cut since it came back in so in late April I will be the first one to get my hair cut for the Locks of Love - right after the walk. This past week I started talking to the other faculty members who have had a brush with cancer to join the survivors walk and they all seem pretty willing to do it. We'll see in April if they are still willing to join us.

Okay, I am tired. Time to close my eyes and get ready for bed. Lots of work tomorrow and grades to get put into the blackboard. Thanks for letting me vent.

Later.

heading text


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.