Time to feel better! in Just me!

  • Oct. 21, 2018, 9:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I’ve been pretty much laid flat all week due to a parainfluenza. That is a virus that acts like the flu, but doesn’t respond to flu medications. I saw my doctor, who put me on antibiotic because I’m prone to bronchitis and have had a serious cough. I also used a cough suppressant that is safe for people with high blood pressure.

So now I’m over my limit on days off from work. So basically, if I get sick again, I don’t get paid. I’m okay with that, because I don’t usually miss a lot of work. I just happened to have the heart issues show up, and then I went back to work not quite back up to snuff and got a virus from one of the kids.

So of course just found out he has to have knee surgery! We’re trying to get it set up around a teacher work day or ideally during the Thanksgiving holiday. I get off from Wednesday through the weekend. Our daughter and her family go to her mother in-law’s for Thanksgiving, and our son and his wife live far away, so it’s usually just us anyway. We can have a quiet dinner at home, and I will have several days to take care of Bill. Praying the surgeon will do the operation then. When I had cancer I had my surgery the day after Thanksgiving, so hopefully this will work!

I got a weird email from the head of school, and now I feel weird about my job. He’s usually great, and I think his wording was awkward, but I couldn’t tell if he thought I took too much time off or that I might come back too soon. I think the latter, because I believe he’s genuinely concerned about the heart issue and wants me to take care of myself. It just sounded odd the way he worded it, and I feel like I don’t even want to run into him tomorrow, which I’m sure I will. His youngest son is in our class. Haha.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.