A Pleasant Surprise in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Oct. 22, 2018, 12:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its almost November and getting to be time to ramp up my writing here! I feel like I’m pretty boring yet somehow, every year in November, I manage to write about the mundane :P

I’m still working on my Halloween playlist on and off. I have over 100 songs on it and am really enjoying it. Definitely still open to more suggestions :)

I had my review with my bosses the 11th. First off, I have to say, it’s really odd having a boss who does the same thing as you do (in addition to boss stuff). One moment I’ll be talking to H about a case, the next joking with her about how I’m going to take my pants off and show off my hairy legs to clients because it’s too hot in the bulding, and the next asking questions about payroll. It’s interesting, but has worked well. Ideally, you should not be afraid of your boss and I’m glad that’s the case for me.

Anyway, I went into the review a little nervous because that’s just how I am. Part of the joy of having anxiety issues is expecting people to yell at me even though there’s been no indication that that would ever be the case. Anyway, it went incredibly well. They had nothing but positive feedback for me, which I didn’t expect. They asked for my opinions on what we could be doing better as a practice and to make me happier working there. They said that the big bosses (the 3 business men formed the company that owns our practice as well as many others) were VERY pleased with my performance in the past year and want to keep me happy. Then they told me that my salary was increasing to X amount. I did a double take and then “Oh, no, that’s too much” almost slipped out of my mouth. I was not expecting a raise at all and then they went head and gave me a 21% raise. Holy crap!

They showed me my production numbers as well and I brought the practice a third more income than the previous year and about a fifth of the practice’s overall income. No doubt, some of that is due to 5 months total of other doctors’ maternity/paternity leave and me having to pick up the slack. However, I hope to prevent that number from dropping precipitously in the next year!

I must admit, it feels good to be appreciated ;P


Jigger October 22, 2018

That's awesome!

Emily October 22, 2018

Well done!

I'm an Okking Fool Emily ⋅ October 26, 2018

Thank you!

TellTaleHeart October 25, 2018

I'm the same way when it comes to my annual review... always expecting to get a bomb dropped on me, that I'm terrible and they hate me and I'm fired. Which is silly, because if they had a problem with me, they wouldn't wait to tell me, lol.

A 21% raise?! Amazing!

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ October 26, 2018

Right?! Why are we like this lol

four leaf clover October 26, 2018

That's awesome what great news for you :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.