Get in the Car and Drive in General

  • Oct. 15, 2018, 8:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the picture you’re right beside me
Arms around my neck and eyes like you’ll never leave
A love lover, a sweet thing
I know we agreed but I think I’ll call you anyway

Well hello it’s just me
A little distance and I lost something in between
I’ve waited forever
For this to get better…

When I was 22 I had a life plan. I was going to have as much sex as I could. And be a badass.

So I lifted weights, started flying. At one point I was working toward WSI, what the hell. I was already a lifeguard. WSI would be one more notch. Got married. Got a degree. And I knew exactly where I was going. Just not exactly how I was going to get there.

It all worked out in the end. I was stupid enough to get married again. And divorced again.

Life is comfortable. I have no debt. I live in a medium sized apartment in Brunswick, Maine. It is actually too big for me, but I love having a garage. I have both a gas and a charcoal grill. The luxury of being me.

Last night I dreamed about calling Audrey. But the dream got all complicated because I don’t know what she has been doing for the last 7 years.

So in my dream I created all these elaborate plans, just to be able to call and hear her voice.

It was just a dream. Still I woke up exhausted.

I guess that is a lesson of getting older. When you are younger you can just pick two choices off the menu. The older you get, the more you realize there is a lot of shit on this menu.


Last updated October 15, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.