Highs and lows in One day at a time

  • Oct. 11, 2018, 5:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s raining really hard. They kind that comes straight down, and makes you thankful for a cushy indoor job, especially one with a window to watch everyone’s umbrellas being blown inside out. I don’t think spring got the memo that it was due to begin.

A few weeks ago I was at an industry function and we did a quiz. I won! and OMG the prize is spectacular. It is a 7 night European river cruise for two people. I haven’t been to Europe since 2000, and even then we only had a weekend in Paris and a week in London. The job I am in involves primarily selling travel to Europe, and my sales figures are good. But you always get that awkward question - have you been there? Luckily my friend Susan, the one I cruised with last year, was already planning a family trip to Europe in October 2019. So I have kind of glomed on to that. She and I will go over early and do the cruise, and then travel with her husband and teenage son for another week. Then we will go our separate ways, and I will go to either Italy or France for a week. My plan is to stop off in LA on the way home for a couple of nights too. Work have approved the leave, now I just have to sort our a pet sitter, oh and save my arse off.

Yesterday was a really bad day. I can’t even pinpoint what kicked it off, but by the time I got home I was a blubbering mess. I sat in the bath and sobbed for about 30 minutes, and felt a bit better afterwards. I really miss my Mum. She would have been so excited about my win and plans. Now I feel like there isn’t anybody to share my elation and sorrows with.

Roommate still hasn’t found a new home. It doesn’t seem like he is really looking either. I signed a glowing reference for him yesterday......I didn’t even recognise him in his discription. Tick tock.


Athena October 12, 2018

That's an awesome prize! Go you!

Firebabe October 12, 2018

"I signed a glowing reference for him yesterday......I didn’t even recognise him in his discription."

Damn but that made me laugh out loud. :D

Congrats on your winnings! We've been talking about doing a riverboat cruise in Europe next year as well. We're trying to either start or end in Germany during Oktoberfest, so it should be a hoot!

Ginger Snap October 12, 2018

OMG, that PRIZE!!! I can't wait to hear about it because I've been wanting to do one of those!!

Marg October 14, 2018

That prize is amazing - well done! Sorry about your bad day though - hope you felt better after you cried it out - sometimes that can be quite cathartic.

Lady of the Bann November 02, 2018

Congratulations on winning the cruise. Where will you go?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.