October already! in Hello.

  • Oct. 7, 2018, 3:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The new car is going great! It took me a bit of getting used to, going from a 1.6l engine to a 1.2, so I had to get used to putting my foot down and it taking an age to respond, but it also means I can now stay in a high gear when I do slow down, something the Zafira would always grumble about if I tried. Every car is different, even from the same manufacturer!
I’ve cut down on my walking somewhat. I’ve only been a handful of times since the beginning of the summer holidays, so when I did decide to do an epic one just over a week ago on the Friday, ( Helvellyn, Nethermost Pike and Dollywaggon Pike were climbed!) it took my legs until Tuesday to recover! I need to keep in shape, phew!
I’m planning on a tattoo for when I complete all 214 Wainwrights, however long that will take. I think I’m on about 32 or soemwhere round that mark. Bel is helping me design a woodcut mountain design, with a lake and trees on it. It looks good in my head anyway.
The kids are doing well. Rob is still enjoying his job cheffing at Pooley Bridge. He’s been there over a year now!
Bel is plodding on with her GCSE coursework. It’s hard work for them, it really is. She’s had a couple of anxiety episodes, but she’s under a school counsellor and the GP, so everyone is being kept in the loop. She’s only got a few more sessions with the counsellor, so I’m not sure what will happen once they’re finished.
Eleanor seems to have settled in to secondary school quite well. She’s had a couple of wibbles, mostly with unexpected periods (which we’re putting down to stress, as she’s been pretty regular since she started last year) and she’s had a couple of cries, but again, school are keeping in touch, so I know she’s doing OK. She’s always been a wee sensitive soul anyway, that one.
John is still working at the Chinese restaurant. I still hardly ever see him. His days consist of prep from 11am-2pm, then making food to order from 4.30 till close, usually about 11, but sometimes it’s gone midnight. So we often stay up till 1am, simply so I can see him. He doesn’t normally get up till 10.30am, when I’ve gone to work. He does this 6 days a week, and I usually work Mondays, his only day off! I’ve tried to convince him to find another job or at least cut down his hours, but he doesn’t want to because he enjoys it.
I’ve found another job and I’ve applied for it. There’s a new Lidl opening in town. The wage after training is £2 an hour more than I’m making now, they have a training programme and potential for promotion, plus you’re trained in every department from bakery to warehouse, so there’ll be variety. It’s a 10 minute walk as opposed a 3 minute one and....that’s the only down side I can see right now. I’ve done my research and Lidl seem like a decent company to work for. Right now, as you know, I do like working in the gift shop, but my hours are so patchy and sporadic, plus it’s really hard to take time off if my kids are ill because they keep staff to the absolute bare minimum. She’s cut my hours a fair bit since I started, so I get the impression they might be struggling a bit while we’re so quiet. I’ve been there 4 years in December!


Last updated October 07, 2018


~Twinkle~ October 07, 2018

Good luck with the job! X

Bomb Shell October 07, 2018

10minute walk to work is nothing, I used to drive for about 45 minutes!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 07, 2018

Exactly, that's the worst thing I can think of! Application sent off, ee!

Mel October 08, 2018

Over here in Germany, Lidl is a very good company to work for. You do get a chance to go up the ladder as well. They encourage people to do more training...

Lucretia October 09, 2018

A ten minute walk is a very good thing, so if that's the biggest downside you're on to a winner. Hopefully you'll be able to see more of John if they're as good an employer as people say they are.

How long do you reckon it'll take to do all 214 walks, that's a lot of walking!?

Babe In Toyland Lucretia ⋅ October 10, 2018

You can usually do two or three Wainwrights in a single walk. A lot of them are side by side, or peaks on a higher fell.

Lucretia Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 10, 2018

Oh that seems much more achievable then. I've never read Wainwright, although I know of him, I just figured they were all like big 10 - 15 mile rounds for some reason.

Babe In Toyland Lucretia ⋅ October 10, 2018

No, most of the walks I've done have been 7 or 8 miles. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.