The roommate story in One day at a time

  • Oct. 4, 2018, 11:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So my roommate. When we last left him he was very loved up with a woman originally from Asia, but now residing in Melbourne. He met her in March, and then went over 2 other times to see her (so we are talking about 15 days total).

They day I got home from the Mum trip he came into my room and gave me a big hug. We don’t usually cross the threshold into each other’s rooms, but I did appreciate the gesture. Then he got his phone out and said I want to show you some pictures. So there was a shot of the g/f, she is very attractive (about 42 I think he said). Then he said “hold onto your hat”, and my befuddled mind was thinking d’oh I’m not wearing one. But oh haha he meant it in the figurative sense, the next pic was of her finger with a ring on it. But that wasn’t enough for our confirmed bachelor, not only were they engaged but they had set a date to get married. So they did, on the 11th of September. So soon I will be living alone. She is still in Australia, but is coming over here early November and they will get their own place. He is supposed to be doing that now, but nothing ever happens quickly in his world.

I’m mostly okay with him going. As you all know, over the years he has driven me cray cray with his slovenly habits. I moved into my house in February 2010, 3 months after my Husband died. Within a month Roomie had come to stay for 2 weeks - and here he still is. I was pretty bloody miserable at the beginning, but over the years we have formed a kind of weird dysfunctional unit ~ Him, the cats and me. We have been friends for about 30 years, so I guess we will stay that way. The big unknown denominator is the new Wife. But on the pro list - spare room! tidy house! no more cricket on the TV!


Marg October 05, 2018

Wow!

Firebabe October 05, 2018

Hopefully you don't end up with him AND Wife living with you for the next few years. LOL.

Lady of the Bann October 05, 2018

Echoing firebabe.you know what 2 weeks means.

Athena October 05, 2018

so you won't replace him? will you be lonely?

bobbi01 Athena ⋅ October 07, 2018

I'm a bit worried I will be, but you know - cats.

Athena bobbi01 ⋅ October 07, 2018

Oh, yes! Pets. I am never lonely with the pets.

Bridget October 10, 2018

Damn son!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.