Insomnia in Tangent

  • Oct. 4, 2018, 12:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since I was a kid I have had bouts of insomnia. Sometimes it only lasts a night or two…sometimes its several days. I can be tired, but my body is going like “Nope. Not tonight.” I can take sleep aids. I can do any number of my usual techniques. I am a hard to get to sleep person in general. My mind has a million thoughts in it and trying to get it to turn off to sleep is a chore. On a non-sleepless night, I will lay there and going through whatever novel or play I am working on and “write it out” in my head like a movie till I drift off to sleep. Typically it works. Otherwise my mind is racing with thoughts of what I have to do the next, what I did (or didn’t do) that day, how I screwed up 10 years ago, what is the universe really, what can’t Heaven and reincarnation actually both be true, why is pumpkin spice mocked, I wonder what if hubby would let me paint a mural on the ceiling, oooo I feel like a burrito.....THIS is the shit racing through my brain on an average night as I lay down to sleep.

So yeah. I write stories in my head (that I’ll write down the next day) to fall asleep too.

However on a sleepless night. This trick does not work. Sleep pills do not work. Comfy positions do not work. Orgasms (pardon the blunt crude honesty of that) does not work. I am awake even though I am exhausted. Last night insomnia struck me. I don’t know if its all the past week stuff or what, but its here. I hope it leaves, because I got driven out of my bed last night from all the tossing and turning. Which I understand. My husband has a really hard demanding job that he has to get up early for. He needs his rest.

Typically I just end up giving up and take to computer, book, or TV anyway. Last night I stayed up watching Korean romantic comedies. Didn’t actually go to “sleep” till 3:30, only having to rise at 7:30…animals and chores wait for no woman.

Curious to see how long this sleepless spell lasts. Onward I march house cleaned, laundry to be done, children to be raised, animals to be cared, meals to cook, errands to run, husband to spoil. Who needs sleep? Well I’m never gonna get it. Yawn! I got this! Life onward! Whoo! I got this…I’m tired…LETS DO THIS! Wide awake. Where the Hell is my coffee…?


Steph October 05, 2018

I've had a few sleepless nights. And it was horrible. I get so little sleep as it is, I would go crazy if I couldn't sleep.

Hope it passes for you soon.

colormetruthful Steph ⋅ October 05, 2018

That is pretty much the way it feels hahahaha like you are losing your mind. Especially when my A.D.D. comes into the mix. Its a party I wish I wasn't invited to lol. This is night 2 of this particular spell. Hopefully tonight goes differently. I appreciate the well wishes with it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.