reality check. the february edition. in crawling into 2014.

  • Feb. 9, 2014, 3:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: in bed, Sunday morning lie-in. Rich is to one side of me watching Sweden v Japan play ice hockey in Russia, Lila is on the other side don't the hair of virtual babies and Talaia is downstairs watching Crystal Maze or Fort Boyard or something similar.

WEARING: really? This question again? A duvet!

FITNESS UPDATE: got on the scale yesterday and it wasn't pretty! I'm still struggling to run, my body still aches All. The. Time. The tonsillitis really seemed to shake my whole system, I haven't been 'right' since :(

IN THE NEWS: an attempted aeroplane hijack by a drunk man wanting to go to the Olympics. Clint Eastwood was a Real Life Hero when he saved someone's life on a golf course. He noticed a look of panic on the man's face and realised he was choking so he gave him some pretty impressive stomach thrusts (did you know that you can't say Heimlich maneuver any more? A relative of the original Herr Heimlich decided to copyright it so if you use that phase you have to pay money for the the right!) Britain is being hit by a storm of rain and wind. I'm bored of rain and wind but I hope it doesn't get any worse than bored (ie I hope we don't become affected by it!). The creator of Flappy Bird doesn't want all the attention so he's going to remove it...

READING: still can't seem to get into reading right now, which really isn't like me. Usually I devour books le sigh. I really need to make more of an effort.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: it's very rainy and windy. I think I'll get a big puzzle out and encourage the girls to help me maybe we'll do some more of the craft/science kits they got for Christmas.

THINKING ABOUT: I really don't know. I think I have the February funk. I really need a haircut. I have wondered how long my hair would grow and I think it's reached its final destination! When I was swimming every day at the end of last year it really dried the ends out. My hairdresser has moved salons, the one she was at wanted to promote her but she said a promotion would put her out of the price range of all her clients - her price would have gone up to £60 thereabouts! I pay £30ish usually, which may seem excessive but I can always tell the difference between a cheap cut and a good cut (on my hair) and the difference is with how much faffing I have to do! Jess knows, and all my previous hairdressers knew, that I wash, condition, towel dry and go. So when I wash my hair it just falls into the style it was cut in. And I only have it cut four times a year!! And this was never meant to be an entry about hair!

PLANNING: well, I heard a rumour, last night, that by this summer there will be several TA jobs freed up at the school I'm volunteering at. And that really is my best opportunity. If I can't get in there I won't get in anywhere.

Still feeling flat and sad about OD. It was such a different time in my life, and such a same me. I haven't changed that much but I lived in a shared house in isleworth, I cycled 70ish miles a week in my commute to work. I saw an interesting link on my weekly Yahoo Picks email and OD became an extension to my penfriend habbit. Holy crap, I just had to teach my phone the word 'penfriend'!! Those days of the interwebs really were like the wild west. New sites starting, created by enthusiasts, amateurs. Even Amazon was a smallish company. I used to order from amazon and have to wait over a week as it was sent from the US, now it's all huge companies. The early excitement has been taken over by greed. The need to make money, to take advantage of all opportunities.

Sometimes I'd just like to close this online world down and exist quietly, in my own little space again.

Or maybe it's just February.


~Twinkle~ February 09, 2014

I'm exactly the same about getting my hair cut, twice a year by my hairdresser at home! She cuts it in the right style, I don't trust anyone else! I still write to my pen friend who I started writing too when we were maybe 12? We have always written even though we are both on facebook, we don't really text even! I love getting letters :) x

Deleted user February 09, 2014

My finnish friend Martti and I met in a penpal website. I also met several other people and we'd write to each other conventional letters and emails, but only the correspondence between Martti and I survived all these years. I met him and his family several times when I was living down at Inkoo and they always treated me like another daughter :-) his daughter got married yesterday by the way haha (btw as, if anyone cared lol)

Wow Mr Eastwood! Radiolab did a very interesting podcast about the manouver and the Man of the manouver. One of his sons has a campaign against it because aparently it's a dangerous practice. The Man of the Manouver, on the other hand, defends that the manouver can cure many diseases, not only save people from choking. It was an interesting podcast because the Man of the manouver is still alive - I thought he'd be dead like 200 years ago but nope, last year they released this podcast and he was still around here, the manouver is not as old as it feels!

I need to cut my hair too but I don't trust anyone here! I'll have to do it, though, since I don't think I'll put my feet in Tarazona any time soon so I can't go to my usual hairdresser. I also believe in the difference of a good haircut, but I'll have to risk it up. I still want my hair supah long though :-D

I feel so chatty, oh my, but I'm quietly crossing fingers and toes about those rumours! :-)

Abrazos

thesunnyabyss February 09, 2014

I need a good cut too, it's gotta be February and the wind and the rain/snow have a good sunday, hugs!

Life Is For Living February 09, 2014

I am in such a February funk. Ugh.

I sometimes want to just close everything, delete it all. Disappear from the online world! But.. my family are so far away, it would be hard to do that. Plus, I hate talking on the phone -- so it's much better for me to do it online or Skype! xxx

The Tranquil Loon February 09, 2014

don't you dare recluse that way! We would miss you too much! Hope your day was snazzy. Science sounds cool . Hope you get a good cut! I've explored the idea of coloring again this morning. Yeah , I was in church thinking I should get my hair colored.

edna million February 10, 2014

I've been really sad about OD too, despite having expected this to happen for ages. I guess I didn't really believe that it would and it was quite a shock.

I'm the same way about my hair - I won't do anything that involves time or effort with it, so need simple good cuts. I'm trying to let it grow out and it's not going so well. Haven't quite reached the point of giving up yet.

The flooding sounds horrible over there. I hope the storms are on their way out.

Ainetheon February 11, 2014

Strange old world...... best, ~A~

Deleted user February 11, 2014

I'm convinced February is so short on days because it's such a drag on time.

Deleted user February 11, 2014

It is weird to think of od as gone, it meant a lot to a lot of people. I'm sure you will get out of the February funk

ElvenAssassin February 13, 2014

I miss OD, a lot.

I think it's February woes for a lot of people. The first I heard of that flappy bird game was people talking about it being gone! Not sure what I "missed out" on. Crazy that you can't call it the Heimlich maneuver... anything to make a buck :/

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.