Sunday afternoon in One day at a time

  • Feb. 8, 2014, 6:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Stretched out on the recliner, Booboo the cat on my knee, chips and dip at the ready and watching the Big C on DVR. For some reason the local television network had a falling out with some of the big US networks, and we got left high and dry with some series (The New Girl, The Mindy project) and they buried other shows on their sister station that I hardly ever watch. Now I keep missing the first couple of episodes of things and then discovering them as I am randomly channel surfing. Annoying.

This is nothing compared to what others are going through, but I am so fed up with the summer weather here. Constant rain and wind. I have shelved the dress plan because there is nothing worse than having to walk along the street holding your skirt down. Sprinkled in is the occasional nice day - Thursday was a public holiday and I went on a bus-ride to country horse racing meet. Great day out, but I had to take a sunhat, sunscreen and a rain coat.....

Richard is having his hip replaced in a couple of weeks. The pain has become uncontrollable over the last couple of months and he has been pushed up the public surgery waiting list. He refuses any kind of help but I have a plan. I will deliver a few ready made meals to his Mother while he is in hospital. She is in her 80's and frail, and I figure this will be helping her not him. Only problem is I can't cook to save myself, so I'm going to have to get one of my super accomplished friends to help me cook. Sigh.


Deleted user February 08, 2014

The food package thing sounds like a nice idea :)

Meirra February 09, 2014

BooBoo the cat!! I love it!!!!

Get some easy recipes online. You can boil spaghetti and open a can of sauce, or make a roast and potatoes, perhaps something in a crockpot, that's almost fullproof!

You're fed up with rain and we are so tired of snow and ice. It's like a never ending winter.

tranquil March 30, 2014

I'm sorry I've been such an awful noter. I have been reading as you post but just wasn't in the mindset to note at the time. I'm here trying to catch up on noting! :)

How do you like The Big C? I know it was nominated for an award when it first came out and I love Laura Linney but I avoided it due to the fear of it being too sad and heavy due to it being about cancer. I think I heard about it right around when Noelle was dying of cancer.

I've also wanted to check out Nurse Jackie for years because everyone says it's good but I already watch so many shows that I don't have time for a new show right now.

On my list to check out still is: Scandal, Nip/Tuck, Sherlock Holmes with Benedict Cumberbatch, Downton Abbey + Hannibal.

My current favorite dramas right now are: Bates Motel & The Americans!

I loved the Mindy Project! I think the current season is over. It stopped airing before the Olympics I think and I could never figure out why as other shows seasons were longer than this one.

My current fave comedies are: Modern Family, Suburgatory, Mixology, Trophy Wife + About A Boy!

Were you able to see 'Super Fun Night' by you...??? It was a new comedy sitcom during last fall but may have been canceled after the season which saddens me because it was so quirky funny and adorable at times. The main star/comedian Rebel Wilson (I think the show was also written by her), and the other guy in it Kevin Bishop (who plays her coworker/crush) are both very funny and talented actors!

I'd recommend this if you can rent it :) I think you may enjoy it! It was produced by Conan O'Brien.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SuperFunNight

tranquil March 30, 2014

(sorry the above link doesn't work as it won't post as it's written)

its the exact same link but there is an underscore symbol between SuperFunNight (it looks like how I typed it here)

tranquil March 30, 2014

Btw, The Bachelor just finished here recently (last month I think) and during this season (Juan Pablo), during one of their trips around the world, they were in your country. Just wondered if you've seen it yet, what you thought of it and if it was an accurate representation of New Zealand. I often thought of you during this part of the show! :)

Oh and I agree with your other noter...Nowadays a lot of the regular (non-cable) primetime shows are available for free online, thru Hulu or the network's site or thru netflix if you have a streaming subscription (we do).

Our cable also allows us to watch most of the popular shows on primetime or local cable on a 'free on demand channel'..episodes from the current season are usually available for a few wks up to a month 24/7 so if I'm behind or can't dvr certain shows because I'm recording too much, free on demand is a good way to catch up. Not sure if you subscribe to cable or how it works by you?!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.