"Let these ladies on first" in The Daily (2014)

  • Feb. 8, 2014, 3:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I don't have full post right now, but something kind of neat happened that I thought I would share.

We were heading back from the grocery store, and as we were heading to get on the bus, a woman waved us in front and said, "let these ladies on first", I think because we were carrying a bunch of groceries.

Okay, so this seems like a really tiny thing. But, usually, Liz is never gendered correctly unless she is done up. This was just a grocery store run, so she was slumming it in her boyish clothes, with no makeup, messy hair unbrushed half up in a toque, she hadn't even shaved. So, this was neat. It is hard to tell on the day to day how her appearance is changing because I am so close to it. To me, she always looks like Liz, my beautiful girlfriend. But, I guess the hormones are working their magic and she's working her way into that place where she is getting correctly gendered without trying.

ha, I don't know, I'm just happy for her! :)


swiftsteel February 08, 2014

Wow that is not a small thing at all. Was she transitioning before you met her?

softea swiftsteel ⋅ February 08, 2014

No, she came out to me about a year into out relationship and started the sort of active not just figuring stuff out in her head side of her transition about 2 years ago (2 years into our relationship) :)

Tacobelle February 08, 2014

Yay Liz! That's a huge thing, to be recognised as a woman by a stranger just out and about.

How are you two? How are wedding plans/school/etc going? I've been terrible at keeping up and so sad about OD's demise.

softea Tacobelle ⋅ February 08, 2014

Oh, don't worry, I haven't been great at it either. I am glad that you had an account here! I was worried that since you hadn't been updating as regularly you wouldn't know the place was goin' under.

Things have been good! Wedding plans are temporarily halted- a family friend is offering us to use her property so we are going up there in June to check it out and see if it will work for Liz. It's my favourite place, so I know it works for me.

School is school.

How are things with you??

wandering thought February 08, 2014

That's great to hear!

softea wandering thought ⋅ February 08, 2014

:)

Mercurial Muse February 09, 2014

That's so great for her!

Ophidia February 09, 2014

That's not a small thing at all! That's wonderful!! Definitely a day to remember.

Nomad of the North February 09, 2014

That's awesome. From recent pics, I would say it's not that surprising, but still awesome.

me as of this moment February 09, 2014

this makes me sooooo happy to hear!!!!

The Diva of Dorks February 09, 2014

that is just awesome! :o)

Miso Honey February 12, 2014

That is awesome! I totally get why it is a big deal.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.