3rd Entry- Week 3 Making Connections in Nature Journal

Revised: 09/13/2018 11:21 a.m.

  • Sept. 13, 2018, midnight
  • |
  • Public

For me, this week was all about making connections to my life and seeing how damaging our practices are to this planet.

 photo IMG_4311_zpspi9c1fmi.jpeg

I came to the prayer garden on an overcast day that was slightly cooler than normal. What a difference it makes to sit in this kind of weather rather than the hot sun. The leaves look vibrant today, like they also are appreciating this break from the harsh El Paso sun.

For this particular entry, I want to get a bit more personal and break away from the generic reflections. I want to bring in a part of my life- a part of what I’ve been studying and feeling as of late.

It may come as no surprise that I work at a Jewish school, I believe I mentioned it in my first entry in regard to why I chose the place I did. I am also taking an Intro to Judaism class on top of this. The reason I bring this up is split into two different categories. The first being the Jewish duty to take care of the Earth. For them, this is a mitzvah (or a Jewish law) that orders all Jews to take care of the land. They are actually one of the largest religious groups that advocate for sustainable living, and educate themselves on climate change and how it affects the environments they live in. This was a very humbling moment for me when I realised how much their religion and their God cares about the Earth.

Another ‘ah-ha’ moment so to speak, happens to do with an upcoming holiday. It is known as Yom Kippur, the holiest of the high holidays. They believe it is when we are closest to God. It is a day of fasting and reflection on past transgressions, call it your ‘New Years Resolutions” if you must. I was surprised to see that a lot of people have been talking about how they want to do more for the land, whether it be making a garden, using a refillable water bottle, or biking places. It made me wonder how such a large and diverse group of people can be so involved and interested in things that their peers know very little about.

If we are all taught to love and protect the Earth like they are from a young age, I believe that we would have a beautiful world. There are countries in Asia that have less than 1% pollution because they care so strongly about keeping our Earth clean and protected.
Sitting in this garden I can tell how much they care about nature. The plants are properly watered, I have never seen a single piece of trash near the synagogue or school, the trees are lush and full of life, and the water is clear and calming no matter the weather.

After reading many articles over the past couple weeks, and watching short videos and documentaries about the world we live in and the people who are endangering our planet- I have one thing to say.

Lead by example, love the Earth and take good care of it. If people see you doing good things-they will be inclined to follow. If they care, they will make the change, and if they do not care, they will see the effects of their flippant behaviour in the days to come.

This week has taught me to take nothing for granted, and to actively look for ways to better myself and leave less of an ecological footprint.


Last updated September 13, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.