Day 3 in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Sept. 9, 2018, 6:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This must have been Sunday.

alt text

Started the day off with another grilled peach, this time the herbed goat cheese drizzled with honey variety. SO GOOD! Would definitely recommend! Also got a kombucha, which they had on tap. I’ve never particularly enjoyed kombucha as the types I’ve tried have been too vinegary/fermentedy, but I quiet enjoyed it! I think it was coconut lime flavored.

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #13 and #14: The sweet corn BLT from the Farmer’s Union was hands down the most delicious thing I ate at the fair this year. It was absolutely perfect and I want one every day forever. Their strawberry lemonade was also delicious and tart. Both recommended most highly.

alt text

Some cute fair art. I don’t know who the critter on the end is but I’m guessing its something MN related…

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #15: Wood-Grilled Elote from Tejas Express. It was way too goopy. I’ve never had Elote before, though, so maybe that’s normal? It would have been so much better with a third of the chile mayo/Cotija mixture. Would not recommend.

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #16: Messy Giuseppe from Mancini’s al Fresco. This was ground beef and Italian pork sausage in marinara with Parmesan cheese on top and served on Italian bread. It wasn’t good as a sandwich. I think it would have been much better on some pasta to spread the meatiness/saltiness and then with some mozzarella and/or provolone melted on top. Not a bad concept or taste, just poor execution.

alt text

Got another frozen mocha thingy. It was hot out and they are quite refeshing.

alt text

Mum got a popcorn (the first of many).

alt text

And we watched a draft horse cart show. So pretty!

alt text

Horsies!

alt text

Then finished the day off with more Nordic waffles. Got the Vegetarian Viking, which had in it a black bean veggie burger, cheddar, mixed greens and a chipotle sauce. It was probably my favorite of the savory ones I tried. We also had a Berries and Cream which had raspberry-strawberry jam and vanilla whipped cream. Both very tasty.

Total miles walked that day: 5.8
Total fair miles walked: 19.68


Jigger September 09, 2018

Yay fair food! I'd love to have seen that cart show, too.

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ September 10, 2018

It was great! It was the 8 horse hitch. I love the thundering sound they make.

Jigger I'm an Okking Fool ⋅ September 10, 2018

Man, that's the best.

Emily September 10, 2018

Sounds pretty much like the Elote I had in Mexico city. Too much mayo goopyness!

Loving these fair posts and gaining 10 lbs just reading about it 🙃

I'm an Okking Fool Emily ⋅ September 10, 2018

Haha! I'm definitely squishier than I was before the fair :P

TellTaleHeart September 10, 2018

I've never had kombucha, but I think I could be talked into it if it were coconut lime!

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 10, 2018

I was surprised by how good it was, especially given my negative past experiences with it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.