First Day of School in In the Meadow

  • Sept. 6, 2018, 8:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was the first day of school. Timmy and Kayla are eleventh graders and Aaron is an eighth grader. The twins will only have one more first day of school for the K-12 years. This is Aaron’s last first day of school in middle school. My babies are growing up. I took lots of pictures this morning and thoroughly embarrassed them. They are all in the same schools as last year, so there is less of an adjustment.

I realized I have not written about the driving situation. The twins got their learner’ permits in early July. They had to take a knowledge test. They have been practicing their driving. They took some breaks when we were traveling this summer. They started out in the parking lot and are now on side streets. We have been practicing turns. Once they get more experience I was going to sign them up for a driving school. It would be helpful for them to have some professional instruction, and I don’t want them picking up my bad habits. There is a drivers ed course offered in the spring in the school district. At their school, only seniors are allowed to drive their own cars, so they will not be driving to school.

Aaron has been running cross-country. When they have the high school meets, there is a modified race for middle schoolers. They had the first meet this past Saturday. My husband and I have been running with him when he goes for his practice runs. It has been good exercise for us.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.