I don't write much, but when I do... in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • Sept. 5, 2018, 11:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

… it’s a guaranteed shitstorm. Of epic proportions.

OK, so last entry was April 10th. I made it to 80 days on the all-meat diet, then caved. I lost 30 pounds. Of which I’ve gained back about 20 so far. Going on another “diet” soon. Basically, giving up gluten and dairy. Gluten does NOT agree with me. I LOVE ice cream, cream sauces, cheese. Dairy will be a bitch to give up (no, I’m not going vegan). Just been doing a lot of research lately, and dairy interferes with brain function, especially with regards to ADD and bi-polar. Both of which I’ve been diagnosed with.

So, that job I had. Got laid off. Most likely for working too slow. The whole ADD thing. I get distracted. I have to just accept that I’m physically slow. And perhaps mentally as well.

So I got another pest control job. It lasted two weeks. Yup, too slow. And, “inappropriate behavior.” - Basically, my wife calls me, our electricity is about to be shut off. WTF? No idea why she can’t call them, but I called and “worked my magic” and got a 12 month payment plan for the balance. Made this call in an apartment building, in the hall.. in front of tenants. Pissed off my manager.

Which is fine. Treating for bedbugs and killing cockroaches, despite the pay being good, is not how I want to make my living.

Then today, I’m home. Knock on the door. Representative from the gas company. Here to shut off the gas. Bill hasn’t been paid since MAY. Did I mention my wife handles the bills? Whatever she’s spending money on, it sure as hell isn’t utilities. We owe like $900. MINIMUM we can pay is $400. I check account. We’ve got $165 in there. Lady accepts a check for $160. Yay. $5 to live off of the next two weeks. And I have to go apply for assistance at the mall tomorrow. That was part of the “deal.”

We’re going to lose the house. Mortgage WAY behind. I’m actually okay with it. Too much upkeep, not exactly friendly with the neighbors. I’m just sad for the kids, this is their home. And speaking of the kids, if it wasn’t for them, I’d be hitting the road. No sex for at least 7 years. My birthday was this past Saturday. We went out for pizza and ice cream. And… that’s it. No gifts. No presents. Nothing.

So, workwise, I’m back to doing eBay. It’s the best option for right now, because…

  1. We were going to pay someone $50/wk. to watch the kids in the morning. I can do that now.
  2. My car is 25 years old. And not in a good, classic way. It runs, but a lot of stuff is broken. AC doesn’t work. Heat barely works. Have to pull up the driver’s electric window to get it to close. Gas tank leaks if you fill it too much. Right rear door doesn’t open from outside. Speakers are shot. One of the rear seatbelts is messed up/loose. Brakes stick occasionally. I’m sure there’s more. On the plus side, no car payments, haha.
  3. That whole I’m slow thing. I can go at a comfortable pace. In my underwear if I want. OK, too much of a mental picture there.
  4. I’m a hoarder. Not like dead cats in the attic… but I have a lot of stuff. And it needs to go before we’re forced out of here. So, I’m trying to make a dent. Sort through it. Some stuff sells locally (Facebook, Craigslist). Lighter stuff goes on eBay. I donate nearly every week to GoGreenDrop (they pick up at my house). And some just goes in the trash. Got to sell what I can before I’m forced to dump it all.

Eh, I’ve gotta get to bed. Thanks for reading my rant.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.