Day 2 in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Sept. 6, 2018, 1:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went Saturday after I was done with my half day at work. I was hungry and ready for fair food!

alt text

Got some more cucumber lemonade from French Meadow. So refreshing! I think that day was hot too.

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #7: Earth Wings from French Meadow. It was cauliflower battered and deep fried and then covered in a sesame seed BBQ sauce. I wasn’t expecting them to be very good but was pleasantly surprised. Plus, vegan and gluten free-how often does that happen at the fair?! Would definitely recommend.

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #8: Grilled Colorado peach with vanilla Greek yogurt and pie crust crumbles. They also had an herbed goat cheese variety (which I ate on a different day). I believe this was voted best new fair food. It was delicious and very refreshing compared to a lot of the more typical deep friend and meaty types of fair food. Would highly recommend!

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #9 and #10: We got 2 slider flights from the Hangar (a new food place this year too)-a brisket flight and a pulled pork flight. Each slider was topped with either coleslaw, pickles, or crispy fried onions. It was tasty but nothing too unusual. We also had the Cake’d Up Celebration Beer which was less awful that anticipated. It definitely smelled strongly cake but the taste was pleasant and mild. I wouldn’t strongly recommend either item but I also woundn’t recommend against them.

alt text

Alpacas (which I did not eat)! They are ridiculously cute. Plus, I can relate to the noise they make when irritated.

alt text

Frozen, blended mocha from the Scotch Egg booth, an old standby. Tasty, cold and I think coffee flavored rather than having actual coffee in them. I think my mom had one almost every day we went.

alt text

Cheese curds. We got them from somewhere other than where we usually get them. They were saltier than usual, which is saying a lot lol! Would not get them here again.

alt text

Aaron petting a sweet (in temperament, not flavor that I’m aware of as we didn’t eat it :)) calf. I <3 cattle.

We also came upon a cattle auction by accident and it was fascinating. Some of the animals sold for like $8000, which I’m sure isn’t even very high in the grand scheme of cattle purchasing. Plus, listening to the auctioneer and his…I guess place holding sounds was really interesting. I took some videos but I’m too lazy to get them on youtube to post them here.

alt text

Johnny, the biggest boar. He was 1040 pounds, which seemed smaller than previous biggest boars.

alt text

NEW FAIR FOOD #11 and #12: We went to Nordic Waffles, which is a new food place this year. They were essentially sweet and savory varieties of thin waffle sandwiches and all of the ones I tried were tasty. We had a Slammin’ Salmon which was smoked salmon with cream cheese and green onions and Cinna Sugar Butter which is exactly what it sounds like. Would recommend both! Also had their blueberry (I think?) lemonade and it was too sweet for my taste.

alt text

Aaron had a Pronto Pup (I had a few bites).

alt text

Got some Sweet Martha’s Cookies. They are best when they’re fresh and hot but in the grand scheme of cookies, they aren’t amazing. Still, gotta get them every year!

After we were done for the night, I went to work for a few hours to work on getting caught up on paperwork. We still had mama cat and her 6 kittens.

alt text

So much cute!!

alt text

Look what this little goofball is doing!

Total miles walked that day: 5.94
Total fair miles walked: 13.88


four leaf clover September 06, 2018

Yum! I need to make this a tradition for myself lol.

Jigger September 06, 2018

That little goober under the blanket!

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ September 09, 2018

Right?! Such adorableness!

TellTaleHeart September 10, 2018

I like how you keep specifying that you didn't eat the fair animals. :)

I don't know, those cookies look pretty amazing to me. I want to try those waffles too!

(Why am I reading these entries in the middle of the afternoon, when I'm already feeling munchy?)

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 11, 2018

Well, you never know! It could be like Red Lobster where you pick your soon to be food ;P

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.