Just Sunday in General

  • Sept. 3, 2018, 1:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I seem to have lost my writing voice. Every time I sit down to write nothing comes out.

I had a busy week last week. Flew a couple of times. Getting used to the beechcraft, an the instructors are really good guys. Just like in the Navy, I almost never fly with the same instructor twice. They all have their own individual approaches to how things should be done. I find myself already deciding which parts of their advice I will keep.

Wednesday I drove up to Togus, which is the VA center in Maine. Huge place. Some of the buildings have been around since the Civil War.

I was there to check off some boxes for the SSA, who seems to think the bean should be eligible for some kind of compensation because I am a combat veteran. I am incredulous about how civilians think.

I’m not disabled, I’m not dead. Why would by daughter be eligible for VA benefits?

While there I got enrolled. Now I am on the hooks for a few trips back to Togus to get my service related hearing loss evaluated. And tinnitus.

Plus anything else that crops up before I croak.

The counselor’s eyes got big when I rattled off what I had been exposed to in 23 years of service.

“JP-4, JP-5, JP-8, Hydraulic Fluid, Aircraft Surface Cleaning Compound, Hydrazine, ASBESTOS! (all three ships I cruised on were built in the 50s), generator exhaust, burning human excrement.”

So in the offhand chance I end up with some complication of any of that. I guess they will give me ten bucks.

The bean doesn’t get anything unless I end up 30% disabled. Which I am not. Best I can get is probably 10% - for hearing loss.

Cookout tomorrow. If I can get up early enough I will hit the gym, then the beach. Then up the road for a burger and potato salad. I’ll pick up some pre-cut watermelon.

What is labor day without watermelon?


Last updated September 03, 2018


Deleted user September 03, 2018

Have a great Labor Day ! Great to read you are flying...

Telstar September 03, 2018

The government does some odd things...…………. We can only surmise that the rationale makes sense.

My grandfather received a Purple Heart during World War I. After he was discharged from the army, he received some type of monthly payment of about $20.00/month. During the 1930s in the Depression, there was literally no money to be had & that $20.00 was a lifesaver for a family of four.

In the 1980s, my grandfather started receiving some oil royalty checks & they discontinued his $20.00/month payment. He was in his 80s by then and didn't need the money, but he felt bad about it until he died at age 91.

Take any money you can get honestly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.