She's gone in One day at a time

  • Aug. 29, 2018, 7:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sorry to leave you all hanging after my last entry.

My beloved Mum passed away on Sunday 19 August. A week to the day after she had the stroke.
From the Wednesday she was asleep a lot of the time, although she still seemed to be in pain. The Dr (who was a total tosser) told us that what she was going through was much more painful for the family to watch than for the patient. How would he even know? Pain medication was administered sparingly (too sparingly in my mind), and the misery for all of us dragged on way too long.

When we put the notice of Mum’s death in the newspaper we researched a few others to get the wording right. Most of them said “peacefully, surrounded by family”. None of us felt that it was a peaceful death at all. So her notice read “In June’s own way”. We also thanked her amazing friend who had visited her twice a week for the last 40 years (since my Dad died). My Brother wanted to put “with thanks to her special friend Evelyn”, but I thought that made them sound like 89 year old Lesbians, so we changed it to special thanks to her friend Evelyn.

We had a private cremation (which is unusual here). I’m so glad we decided to go that way, as we were all completely shattered after our hospital vigil. I couldn’t think of anything worse than being surrounded by people, even though they would have no doubt been well meaning.

I’m so grateful that I got to spend that time with my Mother, and my Brother and Sister-in-law. I always thought I would just get a phone call to say it was over. Even though Mum showed no signs of recognition, we got to hold her hand and kiss her as she died, and for me that was priceless.

So now I am back to work, but still feeling a bit scattered. Grief is a weird old bugger. I can function fairly normally but my head feels very scattered. I have watched nothing but game shows on TV, and haven’t read a book, which is unheard of for me. Of course I have kicked into my normal survival mode, which is keep busy at all times. My house has never sparkled so much.


Lobbastah August 29, 2018

I am so sorry for your loss.

Marg August 30, 2018

It means so much to be with them at the end doesn't it? Sorry it was such a painful time for her though - no wonder you're angry at the doctor - he could have made a difference to that.

Firebabe August 30, 2018

Oh Lady, I'm so sorry to hear this. I'm glad you guys were able to be there before she passed. *hugs*

bobbi01 Firebabe ⋅ September 24, 2018

Thank you so much for your beautiful card, it absolutely made my day. I appreciated it even more because I can imagine the exact craft emporium it was created in. Just lovely. xxx

Firebabe bobbi01 ⋅ September 29, 2018

<3

Perpetually Plump August 30, 2018

I'm so sorry for your loss. Waiting for a parent to die really fucking sucks. Definitely not an experience I want to repeat.

Ginger Snap September 03, 2018

I'm so very sorry for your loss. This hurts. Thinking of you...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.