First Entry-First Thoughts and Self Reflection in Nature Journal

Revised: 08/27/2018 10:01 a.m.

  • Aug. 26, 2018, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The place I have chosen is a small haven of sorts. It is a Biblical prayer garden located outside of a Jewish synagogue and school that I work at. I knew immediately that this was the place I wanted to choose because I love spending time here. It feels like a world away from El Paso, and it brings me a sense of peace and tranquility that I can only imagine comes from the water features and shade that the place provides.
alt text

There is a small pond that trickles down a path of carefully laid out rocks, and flows down to meet another small pond below it. There are mosaic tiles depicting a popular Old Testament story, and it is surrounded by small yellow flowers. There are vines that have grown over an arch in the middle of the gardens. There are large trees with braided trunks that provide shade throughout the area.

The weather today is a little humid, but cool-unusual for El Paso but I prefer this to the sweltering heat we normally have. I’m still not accustomed to the dry heat, even after living here for nearly 3 years.

I came here a few minutes before I start work, so it’s very early. I had a full breakfast, and I’m carrying my workbag that is full of papers, and food for later. I now find it rather disheartening to be surrounded by nature and think about all of the paper and plastic products I have in my bag with me currently.

In the past couple of years I have become much more environmentally-conscious. This has been due to personal realisations, my friends, podcasts, and various articles that I have read that called me to look at things differently. Instead of using the plastic bags in stores, I bring my own reusable bag. When buying fruit and vegetables, I add them directly to my bag rather than in the small plastic bags provided. Due to some diet-restrictions I have (I have celiac disease and have to look out for cross contamination) I am unable to buy bread from the bakery and skip the plastic like I used to do. I have found that gluten-free foods are much more heavily packaged, thus I try to cook everything from scratch to avoid buying too much plastic and paper that will only be put into the trash. Due to my diet, I can’t eat fast food which is also a great way to help the environment. On a more personal level, I have also found an alternative to feminine hygiene products that cut my level of waste down about 90-100% in that aspect. I also use reusable water bottles, and coffee cups, so I very rarely buy bottled drinks or use throw away cups. I have also started asking for no straw when out to eat. By no means am I trash-free, but I try to be conscious of everything I buy and use.

In observing people in my daily interactions, I must say I am surprised. Especially when I’m in Juarez and I ask the cashier for no bag to carry my items in-they look confused and at times offended. I have had people actually get angry and ignore me and bag my items in front of me. This is less likely to happen in El Paso, but I can see that they’re still unsettled by it. The same goes for straws. Many waitresses and waiters in Juarez are happy when you ask for no straws, (I think the pollution from straws hits home to Mexico much more than it does here) but in El Paso very few will honor this request. This saddens me and constantly reminds me that our world is blind to so many things. Small actions do build up and make a difference.

As I get ready to leave to start my work day, a gentle breeze comes in and moves the flowers and leaves. In the short amount of time I was here this morning, I already feel more energised and grounded to start my day.


Last updated August 27, 2018


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.