Snowflakes on Cobblestones in Magical Realism

  • Feb. 7, 2014, 6:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The first entry here should probably be something exciting, or at least my year-end summary from 2013, but I just don't have the time/attention span/energy.

Busy work times again - last week during all the cold weather I was at the office until 2am, then took a car home. I looked out the window and watched the first snowflakes start to fall.

Got home and A was asleep. (A is my new name for the human formerly known as S, I used to call him S for Sweetie, (Why?!) but his first name begins with an A so A he shall be from now on. Less confusing that way, new diary, new start.) He woke up a bit when I came in, and we caught up a bit.

I said, "This is a little crazy, but it's snowing out and so pretty outside...do you want to take a little walk?" He said yes, and we got bundled up, headed downstairs, and took a stroll around the neighborhood.

Almost no one on the streets, the snow falling so clean and white, like our own little West Village snow globe. Beautiful. We walked around for a bit, holding hands. It was a late night but that twenty minute walk was better than an extra hour of sleep.

Right now I am in San Francisco, for the first time since A moved back to NYC. It's grey and cold and rainy here, and like usual I am about to do something that is probably ill-advised. But I just had a shower in a beautiful claw-foot bath overlooking the neighbors' rooftops, and am warm and clean and about to head out to drinks/dinner, so for now I am content.


midnight radio February 07, 2014

Welcome to PB! So nice to see you here!

~jo

nightborn February 07, 2014

Glad to see an entry from you, my friend. Makes it feel a little more like home here. :)

Caty Shark February 07, 2014

What are you up to that's ill advised? Betting it's some death defying feat...cause dinner and drinks can't be it!

sarahbaby. February 07, 2014

A????

I can't handle all this change.

nowthat'salady February 07, 2014

A?! Sweetie! I always imagined S was a Sam. This changes everything!;)

pandora February 07, 2014

I thought Steve. This is hilarious.

Red February 08, 2014

A is in San Francisco again? Or you're saying you're there for the first time since he moved back to NY?

missing maui Red ⋅ February 08, 2014

Pssst...I have the same question!

At Last February 08, 2014

You'll write about A and I'll be all "wait! What happened to S?" Glad you are here.

banker chick February 08, 2014

I always thought it was Scott. LOL

It's so great to see you here!

missing maui February 08, 2014

Please share about this ill-advised thing you did. I want to know everything. :)

noooncy. February 08, 2014

It's do funny to read everyone's reactions to the change from S to A.

Glad you're here!

dickson. February 08, 2014

:)

Deleted user February 08, 2014

A?! That is too funny. I am so used to S!

SF rain. Yes. We haven't had rain in SO long. Only 5 times last year. How long are you in SF for?

Deleted user February 08, 2014

Hah! I just read everyone else's notes. Priceless!

rubix cube February 10, 2014

:)

MoonRise February 10, 2014

You're in SF right now?! Gahhhhh! Too bad I'm not still in Sonoma County, we could have hung out (as I'm sure you have tons of free time while you're here :-P ). If you find your way up to Sac (hahahahahahaha), let me know! And also - I totally thought his name was Sam. That's hilarious.

aglow February 10, 2014

This makes my heart so happy. It reminds me of that part in the movie Stepmom where the mom sees that it's snowing out & just spur-of-the-moment decides to take her daughter on a horseback ride.
These are so the moments we write here to remember, aren't they?

BlueEyedDevil February 11, 2014

Hiiii!

Miso Honey February 12, 2014

S is A? Crazy!

Prosebox has already become home to two name changes thus far. Sounds like a lovely walk that you kids had.

kiss kitty bang! February 14, 2014

It always amazes me that you and A are so romantic after all this time. I have never had that experience, and so I always thought it'd the sort of thing you only see in the movies, but it's so nice to hear about it happening in real life.

And I have such a hard time you calling ANYbody "sweetie" hahaha. :D You're always so elegant/posh in my head!

kiss kitty bang! February 14, 2014

*hard time imagining

SweetMelissa February 17, 2014

How beautiful.

daylight February 18, 2014

You sound good. And that quiet walk late st night sounds downright lovely.

incredulity February 18, 2014

Oh my god I feel like such an asshole! I somehow missed your other note—didn't see it until just now on your page—and I didn't realize you were here!! You must think I was just ignoring you. I am the worst. Hi and hello and glad to see you again :) I hope everything is going well for you!!

dancerd March 04, 2014

Man I'm so excited I found you here! I can't belive S is an A!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.