On to 2.0 in Generalities

  • Feb. 8, 2014, 12:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My tabs bar feels much emptier without OD there today.

Yes, I stayed up and "kept vigil" until the end. Fortunately for CST, it was only until 11, so not terribly late. But between that, the ahem "fortified" wine, and the unexpected "Oh, gawd! I'm crying over this!" afterwards, I'm feeling a bit sluggish today.

It took me awhile, but I deleted it. There was lots of clicking-off, and meandering over to my other tabs, debating about returning that call, and Oreo interruptions, but I did it.

And then it sat and churned for a while before returning an error.

SERIOUSLY.

Like it wasn't hard enough to do without making sure it was really gone (it was)! I thought I'd torture myself a bit more by clicking through the good-bye entries and whatnot, only to learn that there were a lot of people that had Member-Only settings, so I went through the process and joined again. And - even though I could - I did not upgrade my account back to "plus". Har!

But, I thought it'd be nice to still have some sort of presence of mine going down with the ship.

I have no delusions that the contents of My Sweetest Friend are floating around on a back-up somewhere, or that creating another account with same name could easily be differentiated by authorcode, but at least by deleting it, I feel like my intentions where shown. This is over, it is gone - even if it means dick in the grand scheme of internet data.

Jer let his go. Remember his brief stint over there? He never came back after the Great Password Compromise of 2008 - he never received the updated password and couldn't get any help on having it reissued. I would've thought he'd at least "print to pdf" his 33 entries, but it was his call to make.

After I told him I deleted mine, he told me he had reached out to the DM via the Facebook page to inquire about the possibility of keeping it going under The Business. I realize I'm only throwing newspaper into the rumor fire, but they replied and told him "No, we have to shut it down." Jer replied back that if it was a matter of resources, he had "XYZ setup and here are my specs and c'mon..." They commented that while that was a better set up than OD currently had, it just needed to be shut down. No replies after that.

So, make of that what you will.

Jer went into Project Mode and looked up the old OD knockoff (onlinediary.org) he created back in the day (does anyone remember THAT? Like 2001, I think? Ha!) The domain had been scooped, though. Just another reminder how long this has been around. I remember going around spamming people trying to get them to join. As thoughtful as it was of Jer to ask, I'm glad there's not an option for him to put himself in the DM's shoes. We don't need that kind of pressure in our lives - we're under enough.

I'm glad we are here. This would be harder if not for this place. I hope more people make the migration, because I think EWS is kind of shooting himself in the foot by waiting to get his version going.

Excuse typos and weirdness...finishing this from my phone, on a bus.

-Mel


Dictynna February 08, 2014

I didn't delete any of mine - I did try with one, but couldn't press the button. So my 'stuff' is still somewhere, perhaps. or nowhere, if they actually wiped everything.

I did put a disclaimer on all my diaries before OD went down.

Lachlanne February 08, 2014

I think it was really sweet of Jer to try. You can tell him I said that.

Rhapsodies Lachlanne ⋅ February 12, 2014

He's a good guys, isn't he? :)

Rhapsodies Lachlanne ⋅ February 12, 2014

Ack! Good guy! Not guys. Sheesh!

Lachlanne Rhapsodies ⋅ February 13, 2014

If there's an extra of him lying around, you could send him over. :)

Kethry February 08, 2014

I kept vigil, too. I don't understand why Bruce wasn't willing to sell the site to one of the many people who offered. That really comes across as selfish to me. I doubt we'll ever know the real story as to what happened and what lead to the decision, and that's a bit of a shame; it would at least give us some kind of closure.

Deleted user February 08, 2014

Funny, I was actually thinking about onlinediary.org a couple of days back, trying to remember if it was a .org or a .net address. It was a project that never really gained much traction, but was a valiant effort on Jer's part.
BTW: I kept that moment of silence I mentioned in my last text. Even for those of us who weren't members anymore at the end, OD had an impact on so many of our lives...

PB & C February 09, 2014

I tried to join the vigil but wasn't able to do anything after 10 once I logged in. Made the mistake of logging out then tried to get in again around 11 and kept getting the evil "invalid password" message. Very good of Jer to try, but sounds like there is quite a backstory around the shut down.

Ferret Mom February 15, 2014

Yep, I was there going down with the ship too. Didn't delete my old diary, but managed to (just barely) save it all to a PDF before OD ceased to exist. Sucks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.