That's just the way it is in Open Diary transition

  • Feb. 7, 2014, 2:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's funny how some things never change. I'm coming here and reading updates but because I have so many to read I don't end up writing because I've always been a read first update later kinda person. I never get through all the new entries so I never end up writing. So I'm writing this in a note on my phone and I'll paste it into PB. See how that goes.

I was so looking forward to a full weekend off with Clay. I even said to one of the educational assistants at work that I was really looking forward to it. I'm home for an hour and the phone rings. I see it's The hospital, more specifically the respiratory department and I know that it means no weekend off. He has to do a transport to Halifax in the morning. Shitty-shitty-shit-shit. That's 8 hours just on the ambulance with the patient plus however long to get ready for transport and to get the person settled away at the receiving hospital and do reports and stuff. I can expect him to be gone for 12 hours again tomorrow and to come home wiped out. We were supposed to have a date night tomorrow night. So much for that. grumble I know I need to be more thankful and less cranky about stuff like this. It's not his fault. Things could be worse. I should just be grateful he's supporting the transport rather than being the patient being transported. That's what I'll focus on.

I started seeing a new student today for counselling. Keep in mind my clients are in kindergarten. He walks into my office, looks around, goes right to my family picture and points at Rhea and says, "Is she dead?" Alrighty then. Guess your teacher was on to something when she said you were a little off. I'm continuously thrown for a loop with these kids. Never a dull moment to say the least.

Speaking of never a dull moment. Rhea has been very challenging lately. She is just pushing all of my buttons and I have to keep reminding myself that a) she's 2 and b) I need avoid getting in a power struggle over every little thing. Nobody wins. Ever. I didn't ever imagine that the little girl I love so much could ever be so unlikable at times. It's a hard pill to swallow. I think having spent my day with young children being tested and pushed by them leaves me with less patience for it at the end of my day. I will make a point to be kinder to both of us.

I still don't know how to post pictures here or have the desire to learn how the code works. It's the one downfall of moving this whole online diary experience to a new site; having to learn new stuff. I'm happy to have this place though. I'm grateful not to have lost you all.


pandora February 07, 2014

I can't imagine having a toddler!

Sorry your date night got cancelled. Maybe you should still do it, go to a movie or something. Take a break!

midnight radio pandora ⋅ February 07, 2014

They leave at 7 am so there is a small chance we can salvage part of the evening.

~jo

midnight radio pandora ⋅ February 07, 2014

Also, having a toddler is kind of crazy.

fidget February 07, 2014

<3

Caty Shark February 07, 2014

I'm grateful for you and for keeping up with your life. Which is beautiful to read, you know, even though it's hard. Probably cause you're beautiful.

midnight radio Caty Shark ⋅ February 07, 2014

You're beautiful.

~jo

Squidobarnez February 07, 2014

it does seem to get more challenging as they start to form these intensely-them kinds of personalities, but it is important to realize that it's new to all of us, so it's going to mean adjustments all around.

I'm glad to be reading Jo-words here.

PB-buddy-huggies

midnight radio Squidobarnez ⋅ February 07, 2014

Wise words, my friend.

~jo

Lepetit pumpkinesque February 07, 2014

You don't have to code, just copy the URL and paste it into the spot where it asks for it (click the thing that looks like a rectangle with a green background? If you hover over it, it will say its for photos)

Anyway, yep- kids are tough. I think I alienate some of my readers with babies or no kids when I sometimes don't like my kids. I always love them, but sometimes they are shits lol.

Lepetit pumpkinesque February 07, 2014

Lepetit pumpkinesque February 07, 2014

Also: Sam was diagnosed with ADHD and we decided to try metadate cd because his schooling was suffering, it's been really helping at school although not so much at home. I think our hectic house can just be too much for him sometimes, which is why he so loves to go outside and play

donut February 07, 2014

There is a reason they call it the "terrible twos". It won't last forever. :)

pskettios February 07, 2014

I'm sorry your date night won't happen. :( Hopefully you guys can do it sometime soon though! I can't say much about the kid stuff, I have no idea what that's like. But I am really glad to read whenever you write.

noooncy. February 08, 2014

Good to see you writing on here!

LeftisRight February 08, 2014

I hope you get to spend some time with Clay. Hugs!

Analene February 09, 2014

Nice to see you here, I hope you managed to get some time with Clay x

Joie. De. Vivre. February 10, 2014

It's always wonderful to see your name lit up and hear about how things are going with you. Thanks for sharing, even if it is 'only' a note pasted into an entry ;) PB's website is actually very phone-friendly. You could try writing it there and posting from there without needing to copy paste! :)

aglow February 11, 2014

Ah, the good ol' two-year-old stage. My friend Andi's youngest is in the midst of it now, and she was telling me this morning how he is ALLLL about the phrase, "You really hurt my feelings," when things don't go his way.

There's a really easy entry in the sidebar under "tips and tricks" that shows you how to do pics! I swear and promise, it's mostly copy-paste magic and you'll be set.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.