Ha! Well now who woulda thunk that?! in A New Beginning

  • Aug. 17, 2018, 6:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Summer is nearing its end, doggone it. Next Thursday is my first day back at work. To be honest, I could NEVER work and it would suit me. Only I’m not sure that’s right. I don’t think I would miss it, BUT, going to work (at my particular job and workplace) does add to my life. I have FUN at work. I laugh there often. I like every one of my co-workers, and I like (even love) the kids. Of course, that is how I am with life in general. I have fun; I laugh a lot; I like or love nearly everyone. But my job makes me exhausted!! It is a lot of very hard physical work. And it’s not just because I’m sixty either. My 23-year-old and 31-year-old co-workers also say they’re exhausted. That kinduv makes me and Sheila (who’s 64) and Sandy (who’s 55) shake our heads, because it’s pretty hard to believe that they could be either as tired OR as sore (which the 23-year-old claims to be) as we are. I tell my 23-year-old co-worker, Bradley, who is a hoot to work with and I actually like him a lot, that he really needs to think about whether he should be planning a career in school food service if he already has a lot of back problems NOW.
But anyhow....speaking of my spine problems....I got an epidural injection not this most recent Monday, but LAST Monday. And it has not kicked in YET. It took the one before this a couple weeks also, which I remind myself of. But still! I am tired of being sore. It’s bad enough how damn infernally HOT it’s been here this summer! Must I be frickin’ sore, TOO?? Perhaps in recent weeks I haven’t been active enough. sigh Well, IT IS WAY TOO HOT. I’m just over all of it. Once I get back to work, I will be plenty active.
This summer I did not read one single solitary book. (I didn’t read more than one, either!) But instead of dwelling on what I DIDN’T do, and feeling bad about it, I’m going to focus on what I did do, and feel good about it. I learned how to use the DVD player!! GO, ME! My motivation was the set of ten seasons of Rick Steves’ Europe shows I ordered. :o) I soooo enjoyed watching them, an episode or two every day. His shows are not only spectacular for all the awesome sights he goes to, but very educational as well. I feel that I learned a lot. I realized that I can actually enjoy watching OTHER movies too, because if I watch them by myself I can watch them a half an hour at a time instead of being stuck sitting there for a couple hours. A couple days ago I watched a movie sister Carol loaned me, “A Walk in the Woods.”

Is it just me, or do other folks too notice that as they get older it seems like nearly everyone new that you see looks an awful lot like somebody else you know? Robert Redford, in the movie I watched, as an older man looks extremely much like my friend Ric whom I haven’t seen in a couple years. And Pooh Bear in “Christopher Robin,” minus the fur, is the spitting image of my covenmate Darlene!! (I guess I won’t tell her. You never know what a person will take as a compliment or an insult, but I liked him all the more because he looked like Darlene.)


thesunnyabyss August 17, 2018

I agree with you, people look similar, I have theories on that, lol,

hard to believe it's almost time to go back to school, I think some of the schools here started already,

I'm glad you've had a good summer so far, even with the heat,

have a good day!!!

woman in the moon August 17, 2018

Nice hearing from you. Sorry that back thing keeps following you around. You'd think medicine could do something for you. I'm finally almost off my prednisone and am feeling pretty good. Except for parts of me.
Congratulations on figuring out the movie machine. I can't even remember the initials if I don't scroll back up. I think maybe we do find it easier to see resemblances as we get older and have more history behind us. I like seeing family traits show up generation to generation.
Don't work too hard. Hope the shot kicks in soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.