Hmmm....Clean Slate Maybe? in Main Book

  • Feb. 7, 2014, 9:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I don't really know when i last wrote a "real" journal entry of any kind. Typically I'd visit my OD and get so caught up reminiscing about old times that I wouldn't be remotely inspired to write anything substantial. But here I am...with this new diary and it seems so empty. Knowing I don't have a populated diary anywhere else is almost inspiring.

Almost.

No. It definitely is.

It's hard to know where to begin. I feel like my life is compartmentalized in these odd little divisions that never really intersect...and it's tough to know which one to write about.

Work. School. Friends. Music. Family.

I'm not sure why I typed "work" first. It's probably because that's what I'm supposed to be doing right now.

I quit my job in November in order to work independently from home. I never thought I'd be able to pull it off (and NO, I'm not about to sell you some "work-from-home!" pitch), but it seems to be going pretty well so far. I just need to continue networking. That seems to be the most successful way I have found of getting clients.

It does require some serious discipline...working from home. I spend my entire days sitting here in my office and it's tough to stay focused and actually get things done. I'm not sure yet if I miss the social interaction or not. I still have my old boss as a client. But I might do like...5 hours of work each week for him.

I don't feel like writing about work anymore. I will elaborate on the rest of my list of crap in other entries.


Pixie_Mom420 February 07, 2014

I cannot truly remember when I last wrote an OD entry, and sadly I'm not even sure when I last saw my own OD. I fell away from the world of OD and really hate that I did because of all of the moments that I shared there. But now I am starting new and just trying to make connections of any sort. It's nice to have a place to go to meet new people and share stories and different things, without the drama of all the people I do actually know. lol. <~pixie~>

Pixie_Mom420 February 07, 2014

haha.. yeah.. two kids and single mom the past 3 years (although even when I was with their dad I felt like I was doing everything alone, hence the split) but yes, definitely an interesting degree. I loved all of my courses for my A.A.S. because a lot of them were hands on (things like fingerprint classification as well as development where we actually used power and super glue and stuff). They were a blast. Nothing hands on with the BA classes but still fun. As for a masters, maybe someday, thought about either a masters in Criminology or Psychology (Psych was my main focus when I got my AA but I was 7 months preg and pet-off going back to school. took me two years before I went back for the AAS. What is your degree in?

naturescurl Pixie_Mom420 ⋅ February 07, 2014

I got my BA in Graphic Design. Initially I went back to school in 2008 just to get an AAS, but when I finished, I had a couple associates in Music and Graphic design. I decided to transfer immediately for my BAS...which i don't regret at all...but I learned the most getting my associates degrees.

The masters is also in Design. It's a Master of Management and lots of my classmates have BA's in criminology and are getting their masters in Law Enforcement...which I thought was interesting. It's a mix of Police Officers, Detectives, and TSA people.

Pixie_Mom420 naturescurl ⋅ February 07, 2014

Thats pretty awesome. I as really drawn to CSI. Not because of the tv shows like some, but more for personal reasons.

MissMonkeykins February 07, 2014

It had been over a year since I'd written in my OD but for some reason I felt compelled to move over here. We'll see how long my updating actually lasts, though I did miss having the record of events and when they happened

sarahbaby. February 07, 2014

Oh man, working from home takes a lot of discipline. Am super impressed!

LMN February 07, 2014

I keep checking to see if the site really is down . So sad. I'd never be able to work from home. I don't do a lot of socializing as it is...though working alone does have perks!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.