Wonderful week! in Just me!

  • July 31, 2018, 10:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, here’s a quick synopsis of the week Bill and I had on the mission trip with some youth from our church. We went to Western NC and “camped” at a middle school. Slept on cots in classrooms, ate school cafeteria food and had a great time. Each night there was wonderful worship and a time for sharing where we had seen God that day.

All the church groups are divided into Christian Mission Groups (CMG’s) on Sunday afternoon. Mine had 6 kids and 2 adults. I loved all of them. So fun and so sweet! We had the BEST time together.

The first 2 days we painted the inside of a lady’s house. She was a hoarder, so it was interesting. We barely had room to set up or to move around. She had 5 grandchildren living with her, and they were starved for attention. The kids in our group spent a lot of time playing with them.

The next 2 days we built a wheelchair ramp for a very sweet lady. Her daughter was staying with her whle she recovered from being in the hospital. She had a 3-week old infant and had been fighting an infection since giving birth. I got to cuddle with that sweet baby-so lovely! She also had a 10 year old boy who was precious.

The ramp turned out so GREAT! We did a very good job, if I do say so. Our homeowner was thrilled with it. I suggested we do a catwalk dance down it, and we did. So much fun!

Friday is always a half day project, and ours was visiting a memory care unit of a nursing home to play games with the residents. It was heartbreaking and funny and rewarding all at the same time.

This was my 7th year doing this mission work, and I hope I can do it for several more years. I’m not getting any younger, so we’ll see, but I do love it. If you have me of facebook, pictures and videos are posted. One video is our dance, and the other is me cutting wood with the mitre saw. Look out, world!


crystal butterfly August 02, 2018

It sounds like a wonderful mission trip. And I'm glad the school was open for your group.

hotjavy crystal butterfly ⋅ August 02, 2018

It really was. The organization that plans the missions has had a relationship for many years with the two middle schools in that area. It's pretty cool to stay there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.