Twinges of Conscience! in Majimaze Musing!

  • July 29, 2018, 10:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi there anybody!!

I am really doubtful there will be any left to read this however here goes !How are you all? As you no doubt have guessed , I am fine , or as fine as I can be ! I still have a very bad back which is not going to disappear in a hurry so am still disabled and may well be forever, or the rest of my time on this mortal coil ! It depends on me. Which is a bit of an understatement say the least .Either I have an 8 hour operation next year in which they will try to cage the vertebrae which are protruding from my spinal column and then reconstruct my entire spine or put up with a fair whack of pain for life and use a stick walking frame or wheelchair later on. The other point is that the spine and my legs and hips are full of osteo arthritis and it may not work ! That is the spiel the orthopaedic surgeon gave me.Another problem is I will be 76 before they try and that is quite old for that big an operation! 8 hours ! Also I am terrified of more surgery ! Big questions and I have ‘til November to make up my mind. So you can imagine just HOW difficult it is to come to terms with and I am having problems doing just that. Acceptance is difficult of anything that is life changing and since my back collapsed last November I have been having trouble accepting the disability I am left with now, and the significant pain so have to think carefully.
Thankfully the cyst has gone, the scar has healed and THAT is out of the way. Just having difficulty accepting the thought of having more surgery which may not work .I have bad toes that erupt every now and then and have just heard back that thank goodness!!!NOT gout!Just arthritis. Okay all that over and done with. No more grizzles!Today is a truly beautiful Spring day! Clear blue skies and no wind and all my washing dry!! Yeeha! I LOVE that sunshine and altho temps will drop tonight , it is great to take OFF layers instead of putting more on.

Two weeks ago we all went on holiday!My second daughter Penny was turning 50 and wanted all the family together and the only way we could do that was to go down to my brothers place at Lake Taupo which is in the centre of the North Island.It was school holidays and Penny took 5 days off so we went down there.A L-o-n-g trip, 5 hours, one by vehicular ferry and 4-5 hours by road.He has a big house down there with 7 bedrooms and all mod cons.
It was a bit painful in the car for me however so worthwhile!

I don’t get out much now and it was lovely! Richard my son and his two children live at Raurimu which is under the mountain and 3 hours away Janet my eldest and Bill her partner and Jimmy their son went to their plot down under the mountain and then on the Sunday they all arrived at Taupo!!!! It was bliss for me!!!There are 7 bedrooms at the house so they all stayed the night and we had a BIG party which was hilarious! We had 2 of Penny’s girls with us as well. A night to remember indeed!The weather was splendid and altho Taupo can get VERY cold it was warm and fine and the house is on the lakefront so was gorgeous. All I had to do was look after myself as others were cooking and cleaning.

Well we are back here now and and the kids back at school and Penny back working so all is quiet.I am okay really.It takes me a long time to tell others how I am especially if you are not family so that is the reason for my silence. Will try to be better. I am petrified of being boring.

Tomorrw is the last day of July and theeworst Winter month for me.Now we are on the up to Spring!Yay!!!

I had better finish now so heaps of love and hugs and would love to hear from you!

Best love,
Majimazexxxx


Last updated July 29, 2018


GypsyWynd July 30, 2018

Sorry to read that you may need surgery. It's a hard decision to make.
The birthday party and family gathering sounds wonderful.

ConnieK July 30, 2018

Lake Taupo sounds beautiful and how nice to have the family together in one spot! I hope the surgery is successful. Sounds as if you've lived with a lot of pain for a very long time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.