Troubleshooters job..Spring of 2012 in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • July 21, 2018, 2:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was working the the “Mentor” troubleshooters job on the 730 am to 730 pm side of the equation. Spring, depending on where you live and be many things. Warming weather, the rain shower, severe weather and on down the line.

It was a warm morning, the Joint-Line was a little dead, I made the run up to Palmer Lake and Castle Rock. The stand-by or emergency locomotives were inspected, carded out, fuel checked. I was called en-route to Big Lift for a load that went by Big Lift. The DS (dispatcher ) called, and asked my location. I told him coming into Castle Rock. There is a load by Big Lift and needs the DP’s looked at. Okay, no problem for me. I can’t get his radio conversations, so I tell the DS, “Depending on location have them spot at the Manhardt Road crossing at Sedalia. or at the Sedalia Cross-over.” As I get closer I’ll get with them and co-ordinate.

Crisis averted, as I got them at the Sedalia Cross-over. Inspected, resets made, fluid levels and Fuel readings checked. Information relayed, and they are on their way.

The day is passing, and there are four coal trains called and ready. As they come out of Denver, two pass by. The third one calls for a DP inspection at Big Lift. They spot the DP’s, and they are looked over carded out and on their way.

The afternoon is progressing and the clouds are gathering. It is dark and black. Distant rumbles of thunder is heard in the background. Rain, is what it is, and we’ll work through it.

I hear a faint call on the radio, the transmission is scratchy and broken up. It’s Danny Noel, he may or may not call you. Danny is a nervous runner, and calls for the DP’s to be looked at. “Call me when you get closer Danny, around Wolhurst and we’ll get ya taken care of”. Danny was at South Denver when he called, no wonder he was broken over the radio.

The storm is gathering. It is starting to sprinkle and getting heavy. Lightning is a little intense as well. The strikes are landing close to Big Lift. Danny calls at Wolhurst and we’ll meet him to look at the DP’s.

The head end comes by and it is raining. Like a major cow peeing on a flat rock type of rain. Lightning is hitting all around . I tell my mechanical partner head back into the building, I’ll chase him to Castle Rock and the storm should be past by then.

“Mentor, Big Lift to BNSF 6287, Danny keep going and I’ll chase you down to Castle Rock. The lightning is too close to comfort, and I’ll get ya taken care of”. “Okay we were wondering”. “I’ll chase ya down”.

The detector at MP 23.1 gives the all clear 67 degrees and 16 MPH, not bad and I’ll be at Three Oaks Stables road crossing.

Three Oaks Stables MP 33.2

“Danny I see you coming into the curves at Castle Rock, I’ll spot ya when ya clear”. “Okay thanks”. “Any concerns on the way up”? “Nah all seems normal”.

I spot Danny at Three Oaks. The DP’s are looked over. All is good, and I clear myself from the consist and send them on their way.

The sky behind me is like night, during the day. Lightning can be seen. The eastern plains are getting hammered major. Back to Big Lift, make the transfer and head home .


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.