I love what you've done with the place! in {Insert Pithy Book Title}

Revised: 07/21/2018 6:39 p.m.

  • July 21, 2018, 6:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

WASSUP!? No, that’s not really me, but I was thinking I might need a new image to go with the changes here. I’ll give it a think.

What’s up with me? Well, quite a bit really. I’m not even going to LOOK at the date on my last entry because that will overwhelm me and I just wanted to drop in for a quick “Hello, I’m not dead.”

The high: We bought a house. So that’s new. After almost 13 years of paying half his salary in child support, alimony and extortion fees (don’t get me started), and 11! years of living in the tree-house-like rental in the woods (nice, but I was SO ready to move!), his kids are launched and we are happy homeowners.

Well, as happy as homeowners can be. There are a lot of things we want to do to make it “ours,” but even as-is, it’s a gorgeous home. On the “right” side of the county, water view (and access–crab pots deployed!), huge fenced yard, awesome private deck, and about 1,000 more square feet than we had (or need!) Never mind the upkeep, just WALKING from one end of the place to the other takes forever. (I’ll write more in a private entry about why this one.)

And all nestled in a smallish, planned neighborhood of like-valued homes on big lots that is NOT IN THE WOODS! I can not express how much this pleases me. I can see sunrises from my office, sunsets from my deck (over the water, even!) The humidity is lower! We don’t have BUGS everywhere! And though we can see all of our neighbors’ homes, they aren’t on top of each other so it’s still private. I LOVE my house.

You want a peek? Just a peek.


The deck can get really, really hawt!


There will be paint. Oh, yes, there will be paint.


The view from the first landing picture window.

The low: My brother is moving to Canada. Technically, it’s closer than where he lives now, but still. Wah.


Last updated July 22, 2018


Ginger Snap July 21, 2018

I’ve missed you here!!! Xo

Kate Ginger Snap ⋅ July 22, 2018

I've missed you THERE. And I am SO sorry.

hugadog July 21, 2018

Well, hello, you. Nice digs!

Kate hugadog ⋅ July 22, 2018

Hiya! Thanks!

Lyn July 21, 2018

Nice to hear from you. Wonderful house. Be happy!

Kate Lyn ⋅ July 22, 2018

Hi. I read, I just don't write. I lurk. I'm a lurker. Thank you. I'm doing my best. You be happy, too, okay?

Satine July 22, 2018

Gorgeous! Congratulations on the new space and new chapter - thrilled for you!

Kate Satine ⋅ July 22, 2018

Thank you. Maybe you can come stay in the basement apartment if you ever decide to swim the Chesapeake Bay! Or the Potomac. Er, no, don't swim the Potomac.

simple mind July 22, 2018

From one new home owner to another, hi!

Kate simple mind ⋅ July 22, 2018

Hai! I bet you aren't slothing now! (I know I'm not!)

simple mind Kate ⋅ July 22, 2018

Ha! Yeah, life is busy. Enjoying summer here though!

crystal butterfly July 23, 2018

Beautiful house and location.

moneypenny July 25, 2018

Your house is so lovely! I love the sunshine on the deck.

Does it have a guest room? I'm coming over to drink wine and talk shit.

-b- July 27, 2018

Wow wow wow!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.