Prosebox, now with more Cupid farts! in Site Updates

  • Feb. 6, 2014, 8:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Somebody left me a message a while back. I don't remember the comment exactly, but to paraphrase it was something like this:

Can we have a pink theme? With lots and lots of pink? These themes aren't working for me because of the lack of garish amounts of pink in them! When you get a chance can you add a PINK theme with loads and loads of PINK? Pretty please?

I laughed, because:

  1. I don't actually make themes; I just find the freely available ones for Bootstrap (the platform upon which Prosebox is built).
  2. If I did make my own themes and attempted something pink, it would look like my dog threw up Pepto Bismol.

Tonight, while updating Prosebox to Bootstrap version 3.1, I visited the superbly awesome bootswatch.com (where I grabbed all the free themes). And lo and behold, they had added some new themes! One of which, I might add, looks like Cupid farted all over it.

So be sure to check out the new themes (Cupid, Lumen, and Superhero - can be switched under the Settings menu), and good night!


UPDATE

To clarify, this is only what you see. There are currently no plans in the works to allow personalization that you share with others - beyond the obvious pictures, videos, and personality you can share within your entries. Currently no plans at this point, though I do see some personalization at some point - just not letting you manipulate the style, color, and size of the fonts people have to read. (it's a philosophy that I and many others on this site share)


Lachlanne February 06, 2014

More choices are always good. One question, though: Where is the purple???? Purple!! :D

ThisIsME Lachlanne ⋅ February 06, 2014

I want purple too :(

Sapphire_Eyes Lachlanne ⋅ February 06, 2014

Purple rocks!

Deleted user February 06, 2014

Thank you! It's nice to have someone who listens to us.

Bound and Tied February 06, 2014

My but you grant wishes so easily! Can I have a new man?

simple mind Bound and Tied ⋅ February 06, 2014

Oops sorry, fresh out. :D

Bound and Tied simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

You never know until you ask....so I've always been told! lol

Overachiever February 06, 2014

OK, Melancholy, you've got cupid farts now.

Melancholy Overachiever ⋅ February 07, 2014

It wasn't me who sent the note/request, but I was thinking "why no pink" when I came in here and set mine up. LOL

sassafras February 06, 2014

Okay, this might be a really dumb question. But when we choose a theme, does it show up for everyone else (i.e. each person's individual theme) or does it only show up for us, as we view things? I ask this because I can't figure out if all of my bookmarks/friends are just pretty simple people like myself who don't feel the need for a theme, or if nothing would actually change until I myself chose a theme with which to view everything else.... does this even make sense!? I'm so tired. Ha.

simple mind sassafras ⋅ February 06, 2014

No, only you see it -for the entire site.

sassafras simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

Oh my god. That is literally..life changing. You mean I never, ever have to see someone with an aqua background and a fuschia curly-cue font? Thank you. THANK YOU.

simple mind sassafras ⋅ February 06, 2014

I'm glad you appreciate it. I've been bombarded with suggestions about corrupting the fonts.

Deleted user sassafras ⋅ February 06, 2014

Amen!

Deleted user sassafras ⋅ February 06, 2014

Amen!

Deleted user sassafras ⋅ February 06, 2014

Amen!

missing maui sassafras ⋅ February 06, 2014

AMEN times 5 billion!

Lepetit pumpkinesque sassafras ⋅ February 07, 2014

What theme do you have? I Have slate.

minnie58 February 06, 2014

pretty in pink ...lots of it

crystal butterfly February 06, 2014

I like purple and I could only get two of the color schemes to work for me. The black and this yucky turquoise. But at least it cuts the glare of the all white.

Lobbastah February 06, 2014

Classy!

*Mrs_Bolen* February 06, 2014

Thank you I really love it :D

ThisIsME February 06, 2014

here's a question I know not available yet while others can not control the font size for me will I eventually be able to set it at a comfortable size for me to read alone?

simple mind ThisIsME ⋅ February 06, 2014

My recommendation would be to use your browser's zoom settings. The cool thing is that the browser (assuming it's decent and modern) will save the settings for any given website, to what you are comfortable viewing.

Loki February 06, 2014

  • OMFFF- [zooms over to 'settings']
Linda February 06, 2014

I like the plain background. It was always such a drag to visit diaries on OD with fancy wallpaper.

Loki February 06, 2014

  • WOO HOO !! IT LOOKS LIKE A DOG THREW UP PINK ALCO POPS ALL OVER PROSEBOX !! [dances]
simple mind Loki ⋅ February 06, 2014

;)

simple mind Loki ⋅ February 06, 2014

Lovely, isn't it?

Loki simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

  • after about 5 minutes, it felt like my eyes were being stabbed repeatedly. Changed it back to Cyborg. xD.
Ophidia February 06, 2014

Aw, I like seeing other people's customizations, it tells me more about who they are. But I understand where the philosophy comes from. Shame there's not an option to turn on or off seeing other people's customizations.

Her February 06, 2014

I really wish there was a spot to say a little about who you are... Just like a small preview page where a diarist can say something personal. (like a profile) Any chance of that happening?
PS. Thank you for making this site. It really is awesome!

e3 Her ⋅ February 07, 2014

Agreed. The main page thing I surely miss.

Deleted user February 06, 2014

This is a good idea. Just because I like pink doesn't mean others should have to deal with it if they want to read my entries.

missing maui February 06, 2014

Love the themes! :)

Reading_Blankie 📚 February 06, 2014

I giggled stupidly at this update. Heehee

Deleted user February 06, 2014

Please, for the love of god, do not allow people to customise font styles and colours or background colours for the rest of us to see. One of my favourite things about this site is that I do not have to live in fear of stumbling across an entry with hot pink background and bright green text in a curly, unreadable font.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ February 07, 2014

Lol agree :)

Deleted user February 06, 2014

Oh wow, that is pink!

Deleted user February 07, 2014

Really digging the "Superhero" theme. Thanks!

Etoile Filante February 07, 2014

I'm so glad that the formats aren't inflicted on everyone!

Mercurial Muse February 07, 2014

While I understand the philosophy of readability, I have to say that not allowing any user control over font size and style seems a bit extreme. Would it be possible in the future give say 3 easily readable font choices? And the ability to use different sized font and create sort of a header would allow more creative use of text/white space in posts, especially for posts with lots of text.

Mercurial Muse February 07, 2014

Also, if you're in the Super Hero theme, you can't read the previews of the entries in the site update box, or the recent entries column. Something about the font color I assume?Just wanted to give you the heads up.

Cat Mommy February 07, 2014

I want readability too but at the same time I don't need this gigantic text and hate how my entries look using it. There are lots of ways to allow some freedom without sacrificing readability. You could only offer font sizes that go no smaller than 12-point. You can offer a small variety of font types but choose only the ones that are clear and easily readable.

Like I said, there are ways you can allow it without sacrificing what the site represents (clean and readable text). Something so strict like this is REALLY alienating some of your most loyal users (me included). I'm getting lots of comments about it on here and see lots on Facebook as well. It might do some good to not be so rigid about something clearly important to others.

Ditch Witch February 07, 2014

YAYY!!!

hot-lips February 07, 2014

I do like the idea of having a clean, easy to read site and no garish background/font colour clashes. But I would like the ability to change the font colour. Maybe you can include a few darker shades that would look good on a white/black background.

Cat Mommy hot-lips ⋅ February 07, 2014

Font colours change in the different themes that are offered here.

Deleted user February 07, 2014

I think it looks more like bubblegum and I kinda like it. I wouldn't mind something tropical, though.

Tea and Sympathy February 07, 2014

Hahaha. I like that we can have our own themes for ourselves abd at the same time are able to read what other people write.

Thanks for taking the time to look into people's requests and doing what you can when you can. That is very thoughtful.

love.me.for.me February 07, 2014

Did you make the text smaller or am I just used to it now?

Its sad I got excited about the pink he he. And I am liking getting to pick the background I see.... I don't care for people picking their own crazy backgrounds!!

Soul Karma February 07, 2014

Cupid farts... I understand they smell remarkably similar to conversation hearts. Please confirm.

HisPuzzlePiece February 07, 2014

I have positively no idea if I want a page covered in Cupid farts or not! On a slightly unrelated note.. Do you have any idea what the font is called that the comments type in? Or is that relative to the theme you have on? I just really like it is all so I am curious. Thank you for doing such a good job with prosebox. X

Life Is For Living February 07, 2014

I love the classic, simple, clean look of Prosebox. I am all for individuality -- but some people had the most atrocious diary themes at the other place. I prefer being able to read the words. That is what this is all about it, after all! So thank you for that! ^_^

haredawg drools February 07, 2014

Oh you poor guy. I just looked at the list of notes and read the few threads that jumped out. Aw, shit, I'm adding to the pile. For what it's worth I'm glad the Box is not a clusterduck of bad interior design with fairy cursor trails and curly cues. If I wasn't I can't imagine complaining about it. The Box is cool just the way it is, though I did like the easier to read font.

Deleted user February 07, 2014

Hi

Thanks for the update.

One feature request - ability to delete a comment that was sent. At times, I end up typing in comments with a lot of typo or want it to be private. Once you click the leave comment, I realize the mistake. Having a feature to delete or even better edit the comments, would tremendously help. Thanks in advance.

moongate February 07, 2014

Oh, dear lord. Temptation won and I had to look. Pretty sure everything will look pink to me for at least a week now.

Deleted user February 07, 2014

I propose that you change your name from simple mind to site genie. :D

Deleted user February 07, 2014

How do I delete my entire diary?

Sublimejen February 07, 2014

I'm glad people have the option of changing their theme if they want. And I'm VERY gald we all don't have to see them! What some people find pleasing to their eye is not the same for others & over at OD I sometimes wouldn't even want to read my most favorite favs because of their awful layouts!

P.i.x.i.e February 07, 2014

now we need a purple theme! lol

hoops February 08, 2014

Stay strong, bruthah-man! Don't give in to these MySpace Morons who lack the creativity to personalize their blogs with THE FUCKING WORDS THEY WRITE!!!!

Pro Tip: If you are writing a blog and you need pink puke and cupid queefs to personalize your page, you're writing a shitty fucking blog, everyone hates you and you should spend less time worrying about themes and more time developing your skill as a WRITER on this WRITING website. This message has been brought to you by hoops: Telling shitty writers how shitty they are since 1975 (before he could read or write)

RoofOnFire February 08, 2014

Please don't make us read on the backgrounds that others choose. I like this just as it is! At the old place I had to ignore one of my most favourite favourites because the diary page was deep purple with bold white text and it made my eyes dance. Kind of like being drunk and hit over the head to make you see stars at the same time.

And also, THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH for being here to pick up the shipwrecked.

Deleted user RoofOnFire ⋅ February 17, 2014

There's a checkbox now in settings that will let you hide backgrounds that other people choose, so even if that capability ever becomes available you can opt out.

Solitude February 08, 2014

I prefer unicorn farts to cupid farts, actually. Work on that, please.

Lepus February 08, 2014

I'd prefer not to see sex ads, thanks.

Deleted user February 08, 2014

Pomegranate and puce, please.

BlueEyes418 February 08, 2014

Don't let people control their fonts and colors. I agree completely. People do ridiculous things when you let them change the colors and choose their own font size.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 11, 2014

i like that user's can't change the size of their fonts. i have trouble reading small print. and the colors of some diaries played havoc with me being able to read it. had to highlight it in order to read it. i like the plainness of prosebox. it's just for writing and that's all i want it for. take care,

Halcyon February 11, 2014

Not sure where I should drop this -

Is there an issue with entries being made private after they were public/member's only?

I made a MO entry last night, and today moved it into my private book, and one of my bookmarks just commented on it, haha. I don't mind that she saw it, but it was just a little unexpected, and something I thought maybe you should know.

bookbean February 12, 2014

I think the login page is so pretty and then once I log in it's like "...oh." I don't really know if that's leading to a suggestion for improvement or just my opinion and therefore of no help.

*Mrs_Bolen* February 14, 2014

LOVE the pink!! thank you

BentnotBroken February 18, 2014

I make Fairy Fudge..is that similar?...gigglesnort

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.